Can I test elec. sys. without engine installed? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-04-2006, 09:11 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 74
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can I test elec. sys. without engine installed?

I'm buying a 66 chevy parts car with no engine or tranny. Car was running/driving before removal 3 yrs. ago. I just want to see if radio, turn signals etc. work before I remove them to sell. I know I need to hook up a battery, but where do I run the positive cable? Do I run it to a grounded starter? Any help will be appreciated. thanx

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-04-2006, 12:00 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
There should be another wire that would have landed on the starter where the + battery cable would. Land that wire on the + battery terminal and you should be in good shape. That would be the wire that supplies voltage to the fuse panel.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-04-2006, 01:41 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 74
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanx for the help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-05-2006, 03:05 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

Should you not be able to locate the main power wire, there is another option..

You can put a 12 volt jumper to any fuse in the fuse panel..If it is on the switched side, all functions will come on with the key..If it is on the unswitched side (brake lamps, horn ect..) all functions will come on.

Be sure no other power wires are grounded out in the engine bay when you test.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
crate chevy 302? Vancouver Grand Prix Hotrodders' Lounge 106 12-31-2012 04:05 PM
Ignition system info................ poncho62 Electrical 18 10-11-2008 10:10 PM
Hotrodders Knowledge Base: Engine Jon Engine 0 11-26-2005 06:17 PM
350 Chev Engine compression test Seon Engine 4 12-14-2002 08:20 PM
New engine puffing back through carb on startup only? BadBowTie Engine 4 03-26-2002 09:17 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.