Can oil pressure gauge be used for fuel pressure? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-01-2006, 07:54 AM
Arrowhead's Avatar
EFI Rules and Carbs Drool
 
Last wiki edit: The FREE T Bucket plans
Last journal entry: Sold Everything for a new project
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stillwater, NY
Age: 50
Posts: 913
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Can oil pressure gauge be used for fuel pressure?

For an EFI setup, the fuel pressure is 35+psi, so why can't I use an oil pressure sending unit and gauge so I can have a fuel pressure gauge on my dash. I'm sure someone must make an electric gauge, but Autometer doesn't make one to match my gauge set I already have. I'll still mount a mechanical one on the fuel block, but you can't see that while driving.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-01-2006, 08:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,885
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
You can't run fuel inside the car, you need a fuel pressure gauge setup with an isolator between the outside wall of the firewall and the inside.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-01-2006, 09:11 AM
engineczar's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: In Flowbench nirvana
Age: 52
Posts: 1,683
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 59 Times in 54 Posts
Ditto on what Rick say's, just not a safe idea plus if it's got just the plastic line it may not be resistant to gasoline.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-01-2006, 10:12 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: bakersfield, ca
Posts: 137
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What if it was an electric oil pressure guage?

...just wondering never thought of this before, might be a cheaper alternative to buying high priced fuel pressure guages...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-01-2006, 10:29 AM
farna's Avatar
Member
 
Last wiki edit: AMC V-8s Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Batesburg-Leesville, SC
Age: 53
Posts: 1,641
Wiki Edits: 14

Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Right. My understanding of arrowhead's question was could he use an electric oil pressure gauge, not mechanical. Just out a T in the line and install the sending unit. I'm not sure the sending unit seals are fuel resistant, though they should be.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-01-2006, 11:22 AM
Arrowhead's Avatar
EFI Rules and Carbs Drool
 
Last wiki edit: The FREE T Bucket plans
Last journal entry: Sold Everything for a new project
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stillwater, NY
Age: 50
Posts: 913
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
sorry for not making myself clear (I thought I had it covered when I said "sending unit"). but yes, it would be an electric setup with the sending unit by the motor. Sounds like it's worth a try. Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-01-2006, 11:49 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: bakersfield, ca
Posts: 137
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Let us know if it works...I seen some electric oil pressure guages for like 40 bucks with sending unit!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:33 PM
Augusto's Avatar
From the middle of the world
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild an engine Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ecuador, South America
Age: 51
Posts: 1,329
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
did someone ever tried this?

Augusto.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2008, 09:52 PM
Stroke Meister
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MI, USA
Posts: 703
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
did someone ever tried this? ...a fuel pressure gauge on my dash
READ MY LIPS
Quote:
You can't run fuel inside the car
I think the guy that tried it got into a small wreck, but because he had fuel inside the car, during that small wreck he suffered grave injuries.

Hence...
Quote:
You can't run fuel inside the car
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2008, 10:13 PM
Augusto's Avatar
From the middle of the world
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild an engine Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ecuador, South America
Age: 51
Posts: 1,329
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
seems like very few people understood this post.

ELECTRIC OIL PRESSURE SENDERS stay on the motor bay and only send an electrical signal inside the cab, to the electric gauge, hence no fuel gets inside the cab.

C'mon is that hard to comprehend?

Augusto.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2008, 10:21 PM
Holder350's Avatar
Auto Parts Professional
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitesburg, TN
Posts: 1,037
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
should work fine.......and this is a great idea!


I'v seen some oil pressure sending units used for air tanks on air bagged trucks but had never thought of using this tech for fuel.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2008, 10:29 PM
Augusto's Avatar
From the middle of the world
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild an engine Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ecuador, South America
Age: 51
Posts: 1,329
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
great!! finally someone who got it.

but, has it been tried by someone?

how accurate are them oil pressure units?

aren't them too high scaled for carbs? for EFI they may be better.

anyone knows of a brand name that makes them? OEM units will have to be heavily modified for custom usage.

I just thought of dakota digital, it would be nice having a digital readout of the fuel pressure wouldn't it?

Augusto.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2008, 11:46 PM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 58
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I hook up a pressure transducer, run the cable into the vehicle, plug in my lab scope and go for a test drive a lot. It would be great to have a permanently mounted gauge in vehicles for fuel pressure testing, and tuning.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2008, 02:33 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Agua Dulce Calif.
Posts: 328
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augusto
great!! finally someone who got it.

but, has it been tried by someone?

how accurate are them oil pressure units?

aren't them too high scaled for carbs? for EFI they may be better.

anyone knows of a brand name that makes them? OEM units will have to be heavily modified for custom usage.

I just thought of dakota digital, it would be nice having a digital readout of the fuel pressure wouldn't it?

Augusto.
i am using an oil pressure sending unit from Summit, digital for FUEL, cost with sender about $45 and replacement sending units are about $15 this total cost is what some guages get for the sending unit alone. The only catch is that I am using it on my DIESEL

ED I do have a mechanical back up.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:44 AM
Arrowhead's Avatar
EFI Rules and Carbs Drool
 
Last wiki edit: The FREE T Bucket plans
Last journal entry: Sold Everything for a new project
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stillwater, NY
Age: 50
Posts: 913
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Stroke,

You REALLY need to read posts before going off half cocked.

Thanks for the stern warning though, you might have saved some other unsuspecting soul form doing something stupid

Actually, I never did try this, but it sounds like the general consensus is it would work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil Pressure questions RObs71Nova Engine 22 05-02-2009 02:45 AM
no oil pressure nettio Engine 2 01-24-2006 07:02 PM
oil pressure! motor new, start up 75 lbs ! now1lbs at1400 rpm wantafastpass Hotrodding Basics 6 02-29-2004 12:54 PM
low oil pressure, but no bad engine noise Ledslnger General Rodding Tech 15 11-30-2003 10:30 AM
Low oil pressure fred56 Engine 4 10-08-2003 03:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.