Can a typical car CD player work on it's side? - Page 2 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2014, 09:46 AM
MARTINSR's Avatar
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San francisco bay area
Age: 55
Posts: 13,006
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 712
Thanked 1,078 Times in 961 Posts
Guys if you saw how limited I was as to where I could mount a deck you just wouldn't believe it. I have pulled the deck out of the small box it was in for mounting under a dash and it gave me the one inch or so to be able to fit it between the Ebrake and the cowl side, Making brackets to bolt it in is another story! This is without a doubt the most difficult stereo mounting I have ever seen. When I got the car it was mounted under the center of the dash and it SUCKED.

I'll post some photos and maybe some magic will happen.

Brian

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2014, 11:28 AM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,066
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 229 Times in 216 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MARTINSR View Post
Guys if you saw how limited I was as to where I could mount a deck you just wouldn't believe it. I have pulled the deck out of the small box it was in for mounting under a dash and it gave me the one inch or so to be able to fit it between the Ebrake and the cowl side, Making brackets to bolt it in is another story! This is without a doubt the most difficult stereo mounting I have ever seen. When I got the car it was mounted under the center of the dash and it SUCKED.

I'll post some photos and maybe some magic will happen.

Brian
I find this hard to believe as every 60's radio I've take out have been huge, whats the problem you don't want to cut the dash.. if so get a retro model one or 2

http://www.crutchfield.com.edgesuite...ats-review.png



Retrosound Model One (Black) Digital media receiver for classic cars at Crutchfield.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2014, 06:48 PM
MARTINSR's Avatar
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San francisco bay area
Age: 55
Posts: 13,006
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 712
Thanked 1,078 Times in 961 Posts
The stock radio has no face, there is no radio alive that would bolt right in and I won't cut it up for a couple of reasons, one, I don't want to hurt Marge. Second, I don't want a radio that can be seen thru the window anyway.

Here is the radio you can see it in the middle of the dash, well, you can see each of it's knobs, that's it. The speaker is in between the knobs.



Here is where the guy had the stereo when I got the car, I may just put it back there and then make some kind of cover I can put over it like a tissue dispenser.



This is the glove box, so it can't go in there.





Here is a little slot I found I could stuff it. But then there is no place for the speakers up front.




Brian
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2014, 07:39 PM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,066
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 229 Times in 216 Posts
that radio face/grill piece can't you make one like that and cut it.(or get a spare). so the part infront of the radio folds down(think cassette deck door) and radio is behind it..

or just mount an amp under the seat and use a portable mp3 player to have tunes../radio

today with cheap 7" tablets. with Bluetooth. i'd install an amp and hook a cheap 50 buck tablet to it. and stream your music from your smart phone for internet radio and load the music (your c/d's)only the tablet and get a suction cup holder for the tablet.. or just blop it on the seat. and cover with a shirt when parked,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2014, 07:58 PM
MARTINSR's Avatar
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San francisco bay area
Age: 55
Posts: 13,006
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 712
Thanked 1,078 Times in 961 Posts
Those are all good ideas that I have thought about. My problem is I have to have AM radio to listen to my Giants games.

Brian
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2014, 08:02 PM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,066
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 229 Times in 216 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MARTINSR View Post
Those are all good ideas that I have thought about. My problem is I have to have AM radio to listen to my Giants games.

Brian
use the stocker for that... most am channels are on hd radio /internet raido that you can streem from your phone
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2014, 08:06 PM
MARTINSR's Avatar
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San francisco bay area
Age: 55
Posts: 13,006
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 712
Thanked 1,078 Times in 961 Posts
LOL, the only reason I am even doing anything is the original radio bit the dust! I should have just pulled it out the day it happened and sent it off for rebuild. I am going to pull it out tomorrow and see if there is anything I can see. It goes on but all I get is a tiny bit of noise when I turn the tuner.

Brian
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2014, 02:47 AM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,996
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 119 Times in 110 Posts
I hear you on not cutting up your dash. They do make a hidden radio that mounts totally unseen and uses a remote to do everything, kind of pricey tho'
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2014, 05:08 AM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,066
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 229 Times in 216 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EOD Guy View Post
I hear you on not cutting up your dash. They do make a hidden radio that mounts totally unseen and uses a remote to do everything, kind of pricey tho'
not anymore.. even the 99.00 units have a remote..
also think outside the box... the ATV world has venders that make small consoles to mount to the floor with a spot to put a radio, and there is a lid that locks and is water proof.. most also have a small lockable side compartment for ammo, or whatever.. and they are not that much money.. they have cup holders too..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2014, 05:15 AM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,066
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 229 Times in 216 Posts


there are many different types.. seat mount/ floor mount
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2014, 08:56 AM
Valkyrie5.7's Avatar
www.generationhighoutput. com
 
Last wiki edit: Painting chrome wheels
Last journal entry: Stopping my journal entries here
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix
Age: 27
Posts: 897
Wiki Edits: 15

Thanks: 147
Thanked 71 Times in 62 Posts
Brian I think it would be a lot easier to bite the bullet and just go with a non disc unit like the Boss 614ua. You can always just rip your CDs onto your computer and then load them on an inexpensive SD card and just keep it loaded in the player. Plus it's only $35 and comes with a remote control.

Also does CA still broadcast sports only in AM? Our sports station just moved to FM a few weeks ago.

- Cameron
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2014, 09:07 AM
MARTINSR's Avatar
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San francisco bay area
Age: 55
Posts: 13,006
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 712
Thanked 1,078 Times in 961 Posts
I know, I am just so cheap, I am looking to save the world with what I have in a few boxes in my garage. Plus I haven't moved into the 21st century just yet, I am still hanging out in the 1980's.

And there are two sports stations in the SF bay area, one AM plays everything SF Giants, the other on FM broadcasts the Oakland A's.........I'm a Giants fan.

I just can't believe what a pain this thing is for installing a stereo. I have put stereos in many, many cars over the years, I have never ran across something so crazy. I bought a "modern" one for it years ago, one with a USB and a memory card and AM/FM. The darn thing is as big as the stock radio with nothing inside! It's made to install in a stock radio location so the tuner and volume are out where the stock ones would be like most every other radio for the past 50 years. Without serious mods I can't change that, I have looked at it over and over because I could cut this thing up and put it anywhere I want but it is made in such a way that would make that very hard.


Brian
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2014, 09:14 AM
MARTINSR's Avatar
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San francisco bay area
Age: 55
Posts: 13,006
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 712
Thanked 1,078 Times in 961 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkyrie5.7 View Post
Brian I think it would be a lot easier to bite the bullet and just go with a non disc unit like the Boss 614ua. You can always just rip your CDs onto your computer and then load them on an inexpensive SD card and just keep it loaded in the player. Plus it's only $35 and comes with a remote control.

Also does CA still broadcast sports only in AM? Our sports station just moved to FM a few weeks ago.

- Cameron
This is that unit, it's just like what I got.



You see how it't just as big as the stock radio! The damn thing could be as big as a cigarette lighter but they make it huge because it's "replacing" a stock radio.

I have a place under the rear seat I may mount it, I just hate not having it within reach from the drivers seat.

I know I can break down and get a remote one, crap, now you see my brain at work and why I have been using the stock AM radio for the years I have been driving this car.

Brian
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2014, 09:18 AM
MARTINSR's Avatar
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San francisco bay area
Age: 55
Posts: 13,006
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 712
Thanked 1,078 Times in 961 Posts
Here is my high technology upgrade when I wanted to listen to music (no AM music stations, at least not in English) my iPod and a little speaker my wife got me for Christmas a few years ago.

Brian

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2014, 12:57 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,996
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 119 Times in 110 Posts
That being a single din radio with universal mounting...... is there room under the front seat to mount it with the face plate sticking thru the seat. Kind'a like an in-dash mount only thru the seat.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring up a DVD player in an old car, so it works Ripped Electrical 5 04-20-2008 12:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.