can you make emblems like new? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2009, 10:18 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: texas
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
can you make emblems like new?

is there something you can use to make them like new my nova hatchback emblem doesnt have dent or deep scratches its just discolored looking as if the chrome or what ever is coming off? can you polish them or something?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2009, 02:56 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 9,400
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 471 Times in 428 Posts
Re-plating is the only fix if you want them to look good, they will look like new. Another alternative that looks real good but not factory perfect "chrome" type shine is to have them bright reflective silver powdercoated. It is a lot cheaper than chrome plating and is quite durable. Ends up looking like polished billet aluminum.

Last edited by ericnova72; 06-12-2009 at 02:58 PM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2009, 03:37 PM
DanTwoLakes's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Contact adhesive
Last journal entry: 49 Packard
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Age: 64
Posts: 5,893
Wiki Edits: 22

Thanks: 0
Thanked 151 Times in 138 Posts
Check this stuff out. CLICK HERE
__________________
__________________________________

No one lives forever, the trick is creating something that will.
__________________________________
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2009, 10:32 AM
MARTINSR's Avatar
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San francisco bay area
Age: 55
Posts: 13,211
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,340
Thanked 1,169 Times in 1,031 Posts
I'm actually doing a "Basics of Basics" on restoring emblems right now. Give me a few days and I should have it done.

Brian

Here's the first one I finished..



One masked up..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2009, 11:37 AM
mitmaks's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Grille
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Washington
Age: 31
Posts: 1,599
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Ive redone some emblems successfully (they wanted $50 for each one) All I did is polish them up and repaint correct color. I didn't even have to mask them. I just applied paint and then rubbed emblem on acetone rag so that paint will come off of raised edges.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Apr11-04.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	94.8 KB
ID:	38732  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2009, 11:54 AM
GMCTRUCKS's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Texas, Coast
Age: 54
Posts: 326
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
That's some good work guys.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2009, 12:22 PM
MARTINSR's Avatar
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San francisco bay area
Age: 55
Posts: 13,211
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,340
Thanked 1,169 Times in 1,031 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitmaks
Ive redone some emblems successfully (they wanted $50 for each one) All I did is polish them up and repaint correct color. I didn't even have to mask them. I just applied paint and then rubbed emblem on acetone rag so that paint will come off of raised edges.
I have heard of doing that for years. But these had two colors and the paint build up was just too much. Besides, you HAD to mask off for at least one of the colors. I found it easier (just more time consuming) to mask them off for each color. Then come cleaning was still needed with thinner on a cue tip.

Brian
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2009, 12:34 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 44
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I saw an article in a magazine many years ago that suggested using a syringe with needle loaded with paint to carefully inject paint where you want it. You don't really need to mask. They came out looking great from a few feet, but not factory perfect.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2009, 01:08 PM
MARTINSR's Avatar
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San francisco bay area
Age: 55
Posts: 13,211
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,340
Thanked 1,169 Times in 1,031 Posts
However, again, look at the Gran Sport emblem on the car, it is two colors. The black had to be painted and then the red.

I have tried the "syringe" idea and the cavities were so deep on these emblems it looked like crap with the paint half way up on the sides in some places and not in others, it was very difficult.

I actually tried about four different ways to do it and double masking it and spraying them was the easest for me. I just took my time and worked on it a few minutes while waiting for the compressor to build back up while buffing the car.

Brian
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2009, 01:09 PM
mitmaks's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Grille
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Washington
Age: 31
Posts: 1,599
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
R/T emblem has black and red paints. I have painted emblem black first, then carefully filled R & T with red, using a brush. However as mentioned above you can use syringe, etc.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Body - Exterior posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Make a poor man's billet 3rd brakelight. cboy Interior 11 06-01-2009 08:09 PM
How to Make a good Pattern From a Bad Original DanTwoLakes Interior 6 05-25-2009 10:31 PM
is it pssible to make a 283 into a 327 stroker? talon0713 Engine 43 01-08-2009 11:19 PM
"Basics of Basics" Sectioning a Body MARTINSR Body - Exterior 7 11-24-2008 12:04 PM
help make my 327 angry!!! 70chevelle327 Engine 41 04-24-2007 05:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.