Hot Rod Forum banner

Candy over black

27K views 15 replies 8 participants last post by  35WINDOW 
#1 ·
Hi I'm new so sorry if you have already heard this before.
I want my project to be black with red candy over the top.Im told that the red would hardly show.Is this true?.
I have seen one paint job that was black and candy red and it had a strong red hint,but that was a pro job and paint.Im doing this myself and I'm a very good amateur not a pro.Ive never used candy paint before.
Thank you for your time

#3 · (Edited)
Top wrench is right, years ago Candy red concentrate in sufficient quantity to clear, to lay enough coats of the candy on the black base was called black cherry but now you can buy candy black cherry and shoot it on different base colors for different hughs and effects like ghost flames!

Its the pearls mixed with clear that jumps out at you on a black base with mind numbing results!! Candy consentrate in clear is very very hard to shoot with a different overlay ,fan, etc,etc!to achieve good results

Jester (Chris)

#5 ·
i have used candy over black for years. blue over black will give you a deep rich black , red over black will give you the deep cherry look . avoid gold as it will end up brown .
a coat of silver pearl over the black first is a nice effect .

#6 ·
First let me make it clear, I am not a custom painter, shot only a few candies in my life. The guys who posted already have much more experience in candies than I do, but let me give you another thought.

It's really all in what you want, what are your expectations of the finished product?

"Black cherry" is an awesome color, under the right conditions, like sun shining on it. In the dark, in the shadows, in overcast, it's "black" and that's all there is to it.

I personally like a color "you don't have to explain", you know what I mean, it's RED, it's GREEN, to me those are the best colors.