Hot Rod Forum banner

candy paint nightmare

4K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  MARTINSR 
#1 ·
so i started painting this motor cycle and was running out of time to lay some artwork and candy over the silver base and with about ten minutes left in the 16hour recoat time i tried to pull off a miracle and ran out of paint in the middle of the candy stage.So I said alot of bad words and threw some clear over it so i can try and sand it and lay some more candy over it to TRY to save the paint job.I geuss my question is can i do this,should i do this or should i just start from scratch.Ive only let the clear coat sit for two days at 70 degrees and i can still leave a fingernail mark in the clear,is it ok to sand with 400grit so i can lay more candy base over the clear so i dont loose my artwork?Please help.This is getting real exspensive.

#6 ·
Next time don't worry so much about the 16 hrs number. That's just a base line and lets say your parts spent their time in a paint booth or inside out of the sun and dust you can push that by a lot. I've pushed base coats that say 24 hrs by double with no issues. I would have stopped at my candy coat. Then given it a light scuff when I had more candy and just put down some more then cleared.

#7 ·
If your finger nail can go in it two days at 70 that sucker should be hard as a rock. Did you apply particularly heavy coats? If it is a 2K urethane clear and mixed properly and applied with a medium wet coat with good flash time between coats it should be hard.

That being said, as the others said let it set a few more days until it's hard but first I would sand it with 800 which "opens up" the surface allowing more solvents to escape because obviously it is full of solvents. That is if it is a 2k and was mixed properly.

You don't WANT to pile on more candy and clear, but you have to make a decision. Either you sand that and apply more candy and clear and you are down the road :D or you strip it and start over. :pain: