Candy Paint Products - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior> Paint
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2013, 04:54 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Candy Paint Products

Hi, I'm looking to paint my 72 gmc in candy. I've painted a s10 hood candy once while in school it was OMNI brand wineberry was the color. That's the only experience I have with candy colors. I'm wondering what is a good brand to use. I also want the clear to have a real wet look if anyone can recommend any systems they've used and maybe post some pics of the finished product that would be great!. I only spray factory cars, I'm new to the hot rod world.

Thanks!
Jared

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-27-2013, 05:04 PM
Faith - Respect - Trust

Last photo:

When spraying true Candy colors, it involves a ground coat of base, a transparent mid coat and clear coat. There are many suppliers that sell Candy colors, House of Kolor, PPG's Vibrance and Radiance collection, Dupont's Hot Hues. They all work and depending on what effect your after, these products can be purchased at most paint jobber store. The color and effect will vary and in my opinion, House of Kolor and PPG have some of the most outstanding colors available.

As far as clear coat goes, for the price and the quality nothing that I have used would beat SPI's Universal Clear. The mix ratio is 4 to 1 and a gallon of clear costs $106.60 a quart of activator is $35.40, so for just over $140.00 you will have a clear coat that will compete with any clear on the market.

Here is SPI's website and shipping is free.

Home

Hope this helps and if you have any further questions, feel free to ask.

Welcome to the site.

Ray