cant keep motor running? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 10:57 AM
runn141's Avatar
SB S10
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,258
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 20
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
cant keep motor running?

ive got a sbc with an edelbrock carb. i start it up it will run for about 5 seconds and then die. so i figured it was the carb, so i had another on another truck(edelbrock) to see if that was the problem. it does the same thing and it ran perfect on the truck it came from. i managed to set the idle at 3000 rpm to set the timing at 36 degrees but made no difference. 2 carbs, one i know is good, total timing is at 36, what else could it be?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 11:30 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: murfreesboro tn.
Posts: 731
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cant keep motor runnig?

try squirting some gas down carb when it starts dieing to see if it keeps running , if so , gas problem .
if it still dies , ignition or stopped up converter , if you have one .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 12:02 PM
runn141's Avatar
SB S10
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,258
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 20
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
i finally got it to somewhat run with the other carb (#1405) i set the timing by ear at what i think is good right now. i put the other on (#1406) with the choke un hooked and it is way to rich. now that is 2 #1406 carbs, new that has turned out to be junk. and they are supposed to be 2% leaner than the #1405.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 12:27 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 57
Posts: 5,204
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 116 Times in 101 Posts
Sounds like you have a massive vacuum leak
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 03:18 PM
runn141's Avatar
SB S10
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,258
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 20
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-bucket23
Sounds like you have a massive vacuum leak
wouldnt the motor try to keep running? with a leak it always tries to stay running when you turn the ignition off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 03:56 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 12,947
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 760
Thanked 1,013 Times in 849 Posts
This is how a bad rap gets started on a particular carb. The problem is not in the carb, but like T-bucket23 said, is being caused by a vacuum leak. It's YOUR fault, no fault of the carb(s).

Idle the motor as best you can and use a propane torch turned on but with no flame on it. Move the torch tip around the intake manifold and carb base. If the rpm picks up at a particular spot, you've found the vacuum leak. If you can't find it in this way, it means you have a vacuum leak on the bottom of the intake where it bolts to the heads. Air and oil/fuel vapors are being sucked into the intake ports from the crankcase. Pull the intake and go through this procedure to correct it:
http://www.crankshaftcoalition.com/w...ad%2C_internal
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 07:58 PM
runn141's Avatar
SB S10
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,258
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 20
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
they are aftermarket vortec heads and performer rpm air gap intake, all new. are they known to be warped out of the box?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 08:04 PM
speedydude's Avatar
Registered Cruiser
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sedona, AZ
Posts: 271
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The manifold could be warped or it could be a problem with the gasket on install. You're just trying to locate a leak if you have one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.