Car Craft paint articles - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2005, 06:37 AM

Last wiki edit: Building a new shop
Last journal entry: Christmas 2008 came early!!!
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 54

Car Craft paint articles

I've been noticing in a few car magazines that they keep talking about "budget paint" and now I see Car Craft has taken on another new project with the paint-it-for-cheap theme. They say they painted this car for $1800. Am I wrong in thinking that an $1800 paint job won't last? Granted, I am new to paint and body work (the most real world experience that I've had was changing a fender on an Eagle Talon ESI), but paint for under $2000 sounds bogus to me. I know enough from what I've read here that in order to get paint that lasts, you need the best prep work that you can get.

Most of the article seems to lean towards the idea of doing 90% of the prep work yourself, and then haul it to an in-and-out booth deal. Is this really the way to get a high quality job? I presently have my '84 Chevy truck and my '78 Monte to do the work on, and I'm not real sure how the best way to proceed body-wise is. Should I follow the magazine way, or just prep what I know (mainly scrub the dirt and remove the trim), and drop the rest off at a paintshop?

Any input here would be great.

Thanks, Chet.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-25-2005, 06:46 AM
Out of the Loop Moderator

Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 5

It's amazing what you can do yourself if you put your mind to it.