Car problem: What could be the cause of these symptoms? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine> Modern Electronic Engines
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2012, 05:25 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Car problem: What could be the cause of these symptoms?

One of my clients calls me today to ask me what could be wrong with his car. I am not a mechanic by trade, but this time of year I do some minor auto work if thats whats asked of me. A few weeks ago, I did a complete maintenance job to his son-in-law's truck, and bled all 4 brakes.

So, his car is either a 1999 or 2000 Buick Park ave Ultra. It has the great supercharged 3.8L V-6. He has taken relatively good care of it and had the maintenance done about on time throughout it's life. It now has 198,000+ miles on it.

As of the last time I drove the car to put air in the tires(it had a slow leak), it was running fantastic. That was about 1 month ago. He hardly ever drives it anymore, as he is now retired. But he lets his daughter and son in law drive it, even though they have their own cars.

So, he calls me today and has his son in law explain the trouble. The son in law said he drove to the local grocery store, about 2.5 miles away, and it ran just fine getting there(according to the son in law(?). But when he came out of the store to leave, the car started running really badly, totally out of nowhere..