carb adjustment? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2013, 05:23 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

carb adjustment?

I'm new to performance engines and stuff. I have a mild built 350 with a demon carb. Car runs good but when you're at a slow speed and punch it car has a bad hesitation and almost dies but if you ease into it car runs well. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-24-2013, 05:31 AM
WFO

Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 1616

Quote:
Originally Posted by jriley82 View Post
I'm new to performance engines and stuff. I have a mild built 350 with a demon carb. Car runs good but when you're at a slow speed and punch it car has a bad hesitation and almost dies but if you ease into it car runs well. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.
Start w/the accelerator pump. Look into the front two barrels and see if there's an immediate squirt in both sides from the shooter when you open the throttle.

More here.
Old 07-24-2013, 08:58 AM

I'm not familiar with the demon carburetor, but it appears to use step-up springs that are similar to the Edelbrock 1406. If that is true, then to resolve a part throttle bog you should start out by trying a step-up spring that is rated at a higher vacuum. Do this before you change the accelerator pump settings.