Carb jetting theory? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2007, 05:46 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Carb jetting theory?

I'm trying to get my Holley 4150 750cfm DP carb jetted right on my motor. I did a complete rebuild kit on it, but i still have to get it tuned in. I also bought a jet set so I can swap out whatever sizes I need. As you will read I am a newbie when it comes to carb tuning...

I just need a little bit of background knowledge to do this properly. Since I do not have a wideband sensor on the motor I am told that the best way to get my jetting right is to read the plugs after driving it for a bit, is this true?

Also, I'm curious about the theory behind jet adjustments and CFM. I think the carb may be a little oversized for my current engine combo. I know that because the way that carbs works, usually an oversize carb will still work to a decent degree on a motor. My question is, will a carb a little oversized tend to run lean because CFM is airflow and not fuelflow, or does it maintain a consant ratio no matter the CFM size, or does it run rich from too much fuel?

Then the idiot basic question is... running rich = jets too big, and running lean = jets too small?

Is there a good way to adjust both sides of the carb? I was thinking perhaps disconnect throttle linkage to the secondaries to adjust the primaries (or just dont crack the throttle open too much). And for the secondaries I wasn't sure, but I thought I could either do it at the track after I make a pass down the 1/4 mile or I could just maintain the primary/secondary ratio that the carb comes with standard (70/76 i believe) and do the secondaries according to the primaries.

Any input/help here?

Thanks guys,
Kevin