Carb vacuum diagram - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2007, 01:10 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MOORE OK.
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Carb vacuum diagram

My secondary isn't opening on my old school Holley 625-600 cfm carb. I don't know jack about carbs. but I know the diaphragm is good. I took it off and put a vacuum test to it and it stayed down. So I know that is good. I started it up and didn't feel any vacuum where the diaphragm goes and didn't feel any vacuum. I put the air hose to it to blow out any thing that might be blocking it but nothing came out and it blew freely. Like I said I don't know that much about Carbs so any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2007, 03:05 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: car is painted
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Age: 38
Posts: 158
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It won't pull a vaccum unless it is under a load. It won't happen when in park.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2007, 03:52 PM
NXS's Avatar
NXS NXS is offline
wind & fire = guides to power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,534
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I'd be looking at the spring in the diaphram
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2007, 04:12 PM
MI2600's Avatar
Member# 3287
 

Last journal entry: Vortec Heads
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Muskegon, MI
Posts: 2,632
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Take the vacuum unit off the carb. Push the rod gently up and plug the port with your finger. If the rod stays up, the unit is functioning.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2007, 06:58 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 38
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
re: Carb vacuum diagram

Try this site for answers. You may have to search the site for your problem. If you can't find it send them an e-mail. Holly is good about answering problems. Be sure to know your model#.

http://www.holley.com/TechService/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2007, 07:08 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MOORE OK.
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MI2600
Take the vacuum unit off the carb. Push the rod gently up and plug the port with your finger. If the rod stays up, the unit is functioning.

Yeah I took the vacuum unit off and put a vacuum on it and the rod pulled down. I revved it up and could feel any vacuum on the port on the carb.

I went looking to try and find out the model # but could find anything that stuck out to me as a model #. I drove it up to O'Reilly's and had a guy that said he knew about carbs and he had a hard time finding it too. He said it was from about the 1970's or so. ( he also said he knew about carbs. but he didn't tell me how much he knew about carbs. LOL)


Thanks for the reply's
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2007, 07:59 AM
NXS's Avatar
NXS NXS is offline
wind & fire = guides to power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,534
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
it is a ported vacuum source that only has vacuum when the engine is pulling more air than the primaries can provide. it is weak and often the stock springs in the vacuum pod won't fully open until 7000+ rpm. They are color coded so if you can see what spring you have and the rpm it will take to open it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2007, 09:08 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 38
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This is where to find the list #. From the Holly site.

QUESTION How do I find the "list" number on my carburetor?
ANSWER The list number for most performance and factory 2 and 4 barrel carburetors will be found stamped into the upper right hand corner of the airhorn or sometimes called the choke tower. On the 4150 HP models that do not have a choke tower the list number will be stamped into the mainbody behind the throttle linkage. This number is used to identify the carburetor and also used when needing service parts or renew kits.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2007, 09:36 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MOORE OK.
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks 66BOWTIE when I get home I'll have to ck it out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2007, 09:27 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MOORE OK.
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It said R75 but that doesn't sound like model number to me. Oh well!!! Anyway I took apart the secondary and noticed there was a Black spring in there it seemed kind of stiff. What color should it be and is the black one stock or do you think it's been changed out before?

Thanks again Brian
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2007, 10:37 AM
NXS's Avatar
NXS NXS is offline
wind & fire = guides to power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,534
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
White, yellow...to black....black being the stiffest and latest opening
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2007, 10:42 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MOORE OK.
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
AHWWW HAAAA I think I found my culprit Sweet thanks I'll have to get another spring and see if that helps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2007, 07:16 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MOORE OK.
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well I went home last night and bought a vacuum secondary spring kit. I put the white one in ( the lightest/less tension )and my secondaries open up yeah the only problem is it opens up in to high rpm. Right about the time I want to let off the secondaries open up so I don't get to enjoy the extra power. Is there a way to increase vacuum so it will open up sooner or a way to adjust when it opens up? I know usually you would adjust when the secondaries open by getting a little bit stiffer spring but since I have the weakest on in there now I don't know what to do. Do you think I can run it with out a spring at all or do I have to have one to push the diaphragm back down?

Thanks again for all the help now I just need to fine tune this thing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2007, 07:54 AM
NXS's Avatar
NXS NXS is offline
wind & fire = guides to power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,534
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
you can pull the spring out and either push it inside out to soften it so the secondaries are open sooner and stay open

or

cut the bottom off, this will give an initial hit at lower rpms then slowly open in the upper rpms
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to NXS For This Useful Post:
PatM (07-28-2013)
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2007, 09:37 AM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: car is painted
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Age: 38
Posts: 158
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What makes you think the secondaries are opening late?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vacuum advance hooked up directly to manifold....is this bad????? Steve-0321 Engine 69 03-10-2014 05:10 PM
vacuum advance help batman09 Engine 14 09-09-2004 09:42 PM
Vacuum advance from my carb to Dist.Do I need it? batman09 Engine 9 09-07-2004 09:22 PM
Vacuum hose routing diagram? 87442lover Engine 2 01-24-2004 08:08 AM
Mustang V-6 motorcraft 2150 carb. vacuum routing? 87442lover Engine 1 04-24-2003 10:51 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.