Hot Rod Forum banner

Carburetor/Blower question

855 views 3 replies 3 participants last post by  Roald 
#1 ·
Okay, so I've looked into it but I haven't found a clear answer. Can someone explain to me the differences with a blower setup (and NA I guess as well) mechanical secondaries versus vacuum secondaries? I don't understand how this effects your performance? As far as I'm aware of, I assume mechanical secondaries would be better because you basically control when you want your power, as opposed to vacuum I guess the engine has to "wait" until enough vacuum is created to provide the response?

I'm new to carbs, so I haven't grasped all of the fine details just yet. I guess the real simple question is this - is there any reason I SHOULDN'T use a vacuum secondary? I am looking for the best carburetor for performance, NOT gas mileage. As far as carbs, I was considering going with Holley. Are Edelbrocks spotty on their quality, because I know alot of people that have gotten rid of them. I talked to a friend of mine, and he said he gave his away (literally) about two weeks ago.

Also, off the wall (but still related) - I have an E-85 gas station right down the street from me. Right now I have high compression forged pistons that would work fine with this application. Since I don't have the carbs yet - buy a pair, or go with gas? The only negative thing I see is not being able to get gas just anywhere, and having to bump up my fuel setup (which I was doing anyways). Any opinions considered. Thanks guys. :)

See less See more
#2 ·