Cd Deck Install - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2004, 10:26 AM
70chevy's Avatar
Eager and Willing to Learn
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Greenville TX
Age: 28
Posts: 251
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cd Deck Install

I want to cut out the whole for a new Cd player in place of where the old nasty GM pushbutton radio was. I was hoping someone could point me in the direction of what the specs are for a standard DIN mount deck. Otherwise i am ripping out my deck from my current truck and put it up to the metal and start hacking.

Also do i just wire in all my speakers straight from the harness of my choice. What i mean is can i just pick a harness and wire it up to my cd player and then run the lines to my speakers and just run it to the correct locations?

What is the best option for a shaved antenna? I have seen the top glass mount kits for a very decent price.

I am just trying to wrap up the last of the interior!!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2004, 11:07 AM
FASTCHEVY's Avatar
RatRod B4 RatRods were Cool
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dallas Texas
Age: 32
Posts: 800
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
When you go to cutting, cut the top and bottom, then fold the two
metal flaps back inside. that's so the old radio can be put back
if ever restored to original.

You should have install directions with your CD deck.


Shane.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2004, 11:23 AM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,899
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 261 Times in 213 Posts
To power your CD player, use the old live wire from the original radio. You will also need a constant 12 volt sourse to keep proper time on the clock and station presets. Your instructions explain this .
Run all new speaker wires. Get quality speaker wire, not thin junk. You might want to upgrade to an amplifier later.

If you don't want to cut the dash, build a little console under the dash to put it in..
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2004, 11:46 AM
70chevy's Avatar
Eager and Willing to Learn
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Greenville TX
Age: 28
Posts: 251
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I plan to cut the dash. What I am needed is the specs on how big the whole is for a standard mount deck. I am not sure where to look!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2004, 11:52 AM
FASTCHEVY's Avatar
RatRod B4 RatRods were Cool
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dallas Texas
Age: 32
Posts: 800
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Get the deck before you take a saw to your dash.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2004, 11:58 AM
70chevy's Avatar
Eager and Willing to Learn
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Greenville TX
Age: 28
Posts: 251
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well i am tight on money and I am painting my dash as soon as the humidity clears up like hopefully tomorrow. It is all that is left to paint. But it is an alpine standard size deck. Shouldnt it be a standard mount?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2004, 12:02 PM
FASTCHEVY's Avatar
RatRod B4 RatRods were Cool
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dallas Texas
Age: 32
Posts: 800
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by 70chevy
Well i am tight on money and I am painting my dash as soon as the humidity clears up like hopefully tomorrow. It is all that is left to paint. But it is an alpine standard size deck. Shouldnt it be a standard mount?
Huh? you have one allready? just hold it up to the dash and mark
around it.
but yea it should be standard size.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2004, 12:12 PM
70chevy's Avatar
Eager and Willing to Learn
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Greenville TX
Age: 28
Posts: 251
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No I know what i am getting. THat is why i was hoping someone would have the mounting bracket size on hand. Sorry for the miscommunication
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2004, 08:54 AM
rnpit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NJ
Age: 64
Posts: 53
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Try this link they should have the mounting size for the radio you want to install. www.crutchfield.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-25-2004, 06:30 AM
sbchevfreak's Avatar
Licenced Automotive Technician
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Land of big Easter eggs, Alberta
Age: 34
Posts: 1,605
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
if you flow is low, just go down to your nearest car audio place and see if they will measure up the DIN sleeve for you, or even better, lend you one to trace out.unless they are real stingy or hard up for install work, they should be willing to help you out (especially if you are buying your deck from them )
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2004, 10:40 PM
akm akm is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 431
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
if you still need it, just give me a heads up and i'll measure mine tomorrow.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2004, 11:47 AM
70chevy's Avatar
Eager and Willing to Learn
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Greenville TX
Age: 28
Posts: 251
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks for all the help i just uninstalled one from another truck and did my cutting yesterday!! Thanks again
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.