Changed Tranny Fluid>FAILURE! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2003, 01:15 PM

Last journal entry: 1st day out!
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Changed Tranny Fluid>FAILURE!

Good day, Newbie here. TH400 working good in my '80 Malibu mated with a 350. Had car for about 6 or 7 months, and the trans seemed like it was taking too long to shift out of first. The RPM's would revv high, and then second would kick in. This is while going at a low cruising speed. If I mash it, like off a light, it would shift good and smooth. SO, I changed the fluid, filter, and put in some Lucas thick tranny help. Dropped it in gear, and NOTHING. No reverse, drive... The RPM's didn't even drop like it was trying to go in gear.

Mind you, the old trans fluid was a nice reddish color, and had no shavings or metallic peices in it. Just a lil' sludge around the circle black rubber thing on the bottom of the pan. I appreciate any help, and will answer all questions to the best of my knowledge (don't know that much about transmissions
Attached Images

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-21-2003, 02:02 PM
Race it, Don't rice it!

Last photo:

Drop the pan and make sure the filter is seated well enough.
Old 11-21-2003, 02:07 PM

Last photo:

lol don't have any help for you but that circle black thingy is a magnet to help collect any metal shavings that may be present. hope you can get your answer and get her going agian.
Old 11-21-2003, 02:39 PM

Last photo: