changing dist - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2004, 01:11 AM
njbloodline666's Avatar
I Love VTec
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: fairview nj
Age: 28
Posts: 306
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
changing dist

i am changing my carb ( a computer controlled Qjet) to a holley... im pretty sure i have to get rid of that coil in cap hei, when i swap out the dist what wires do i need to splice out of the old dist ...the car is an 84 camaro 5.0

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2004, 01:38 AM
84Z 84Z is offline
Gas Raper
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 198
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I got a 84 camaro and I had the stock distrib with the coil mounted on top. 305 as well as carb was swapped out, but I kept that distrib with the new engine so the wires just weren't needed. I did this a while ago but I don't remember splicing at all.

Last edited by 84Z; 04-09-2004 at 01:50 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2004, 03:39 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: illinois
Age: 39
Posts: 29
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
you dont have to change your distributor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2004, 03:49 PM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
If the computer is no longer active you will have to change the distributor, the computer controlled HEI has no mechanical or vacuum advance, so the timing would stay at it`s base setting and the engine would be a dog. If the computer is active and you go with the Holley, the connectors will be flapping in the breeze and the computer won`t be able to control engine functions the way they should be so you may as well disable the computer. However, if the Holley you plan to use isn`t a spread bore Holley and your running the stock intake, you`ll need a 4 hole adapter or a aftermarket intake, do not use a open adapter. If there isn`t anything wrong with the Quadrajet, you won`t notice any performance gains by going to the Holley.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2004, 03:55 PM
Jmark's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: phoenix
Age: 61
Posts: 4,815
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Right on!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2004, 01:45 AM
njbloodline666's Avatar
I Love VTec
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: fairview nj
Age: 28
Posts: 306
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i am switching my manifold to a holley as well, does anyone make an aftermarket ignition that would save me the trouble of swapping the dist. like a module that reads the rmps and calculates the advance
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-18-2004, 01:09 AM
njbloodline666's Avatar
I Love VTec
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: fairview nj
Age: 28
Posts: 306
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i purchased an accel hei with mechanical and vaccum advance for pre computer controlled heis. my question is why is all the wiring the same? if my computer controlls my advance curve shouldnt there be more wires?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-18-2004, 11:48 PM
njbloodline666's Avatar
I Love VTec
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: fairview nj
Age: 28
Posts: 306
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i am re posting this is the electrical forum
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.