Checking 220V Outlet - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2011, 10:58 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: maryland
Posts: 285
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Checking 220V Outlet

Hey Guys,

I just finished installing my 220V outlet for my Miller 211 Welder. Plugged it in and the welder turned on fine. I didn't test the welder. I checked the outlet with one of those cheap test lights and it read 220 volts.

My electrician friend who told me how to do it is out of town. I want to really verify it with my digital multi-meter but don't know exactly what holes to put the leads in and where to set the dial. Can someone please tell me so I can triple verify that I have it correct? And what exactly should it read?Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2011, 02:35 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Outlet like this>> http://www.brwelder.com/images/EXTEN...RD%20PLUGS.jpg
Set your Volt/Ohm meter to ACV=ACVolts, probably has a settings of 200, 400, 700 etc.. Use 200 setting, insert the Black probe in the Horse Shoe looking hole, insert Red probe in either Flat blade hole. Should have about 120-125V on each Flat blade hole contact.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2011, 06:53 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: maryland
Posts: 285
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Isn't there a way that I can check the total voltage at once and get a total voltage number instead of checking each spade separately? Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:10 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,413
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 5
Thanked 122 Times in 110 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveh
Isn't there a way that I can check the total voltage at once and get a total voltage number instead of checking each spade separately? Thanks
Yeah, simple. Put the VOM on a scale higher than 200V AC. Put one probe in each of the main terminals. You'll see 220V (or close to it). No, it does not matter that one probe is the "GRD" probe.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2011, 11:55 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: maryland
Posts: 285
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I know I being really stupid but I want to be certain before I go sticking leads into the receptical.

This it the tester exactly where do I put the leads and on what settings and where? Thanks

Dave
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010086.JPG
Views:	125
Size:	387.2 KB
ID:	52858  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2011, 01:45 PM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 69
Posts: 2,174
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Hi
With that meter I would check one side at a time, as you may damage the meter trying to use it on higher voltage then the meter is rated for 200VAC
Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2011, 03:15 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: maryland
Posts: 285
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I checked my 110 outlet first to test and get readings of 7.5 shouldnt it be close to 110? What am I doing wrong? I have the meter on V AC 200. Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2011, 03:32 PM
bondo's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chaumont Bay N.Y.
Posts: 952
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveh
I checked my 110 outlet first to test and get readings of 7.5 shouldnt it be close to 110? What am I doing wrong? I have the meter on V AC 200. Thanks
Ayuh,... With the meter pictured, 'n the selector where it is at 200V, AC...
Put the black lead in the center, 'n the red in the right side hole of the meter...
With the leads in a standard household outlet, you should see 110V/ 120V showing...

On the welder receptacle, you should see 120V from each side, to the common...
The red lead on each side, 'n the black lead on the common...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2011, 03:58 PM
Blazin72's Avatar
You got a leaky spark tube...
 
Last wiki edit: Rearend removal
Last journal entry: General Lee
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Union, WA
Age: 32
Posts: 2,868
Wiki Edits: 19

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
daveh, that meter has a 750 VAC setting. Set it to 750 VAC then do just as joe_padavano said and stick one lead in each main terminal. It doesn't matter which lead goes on which side you should still get the ~220v you're looking for. I just got done checking all of the 110v and 220v outlets in my shop with a cheap digital multimeter and it worked fine. You just have to make sure you have the meter on the right setting.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2011, 04:04 PM
Blazin72's Avatar
You got a leaky spark tube...
 
Last wiki edit: Rearend removal
Last journal entry: General Lee
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Union, WA
Age: 32
Posts: 2,868
Wiki Edits: 19

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I searched and found this. It describes both methods people have listed above. When measuring 220v directly just make sure you have your meter set to 750 VAC.

http://www.ehow.com/how_5933454_test...er-outlet.html
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2011, 04:17 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: maryland
Posts: 285
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Eureka I did it. I had the lead in the wrong hole. Once I figured that out it worked great. Hey you learn something every day. I couldn't have done it without you guys. Thanks again I always appreciate your help.

Dave
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2011, 04:27 PM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 69
Posts: 2,174
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Blazin72
When I looked at the meter I thought it read 150 then 200, after you said something about it I expanded the picture then I could see it read 750.
Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2011, 05:00 PM
Blazin72's Avatar
You got a leaky spark tube...
 
Last wiki edit: Rearend removal
Last journal entry: General Lee
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Union, WA
Age: 32
Posts: 2,868
Wiki Edits: 19

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Yeah I had a hard time reading it too. I had to blow up the picture to read it clearly. I may be 29 but my eyesight is about 30 years older than I am.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2011, 08:05 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,413
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 5
Thanked 122 Times in 110 Posts
For what it's worth, even the $2.99 Chinesium voltmeters at Harbor Freight have 200 VAC and 750 VAC scales. It would make no sense to built a meter with 150 V and 200 V scales, since they are so close that one would be redundant.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Checking pushrod length with checking springs? v8hed Engine 1 01-22-2011 06:20 PM
Water Outlet? hemi joe Engine 13 10-30-2009 03:30 PM
Wiring for a 230V MIG asennad Garage - Tools 10 11-17-2006 05:21 AM
Why are some 230v compressor motors run on 110v? Danny G. Garage - Tools 11 05-22-2006 07:37 PM
Wiring my 230v compressor...... PairOf69's Garage - Tools 7 11-18-2005 08:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.