checking Amperage - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2009, 02:03 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
checking Amperage

How does one get an amperage reading - is this taken when the machine is underload , and where is this usualy taken in line from

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2009, 06:43 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,839
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Amperage is measured with an amp meter that is placed in the line that feeds the fuse panel. That means that any load the fuse panel requires must pass through the amp meter. They have been deemed dangerous by some for that very reason and a volt meter is the preferred alternative.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2009, 07:56 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
measuring Amperage

Thanks Vince


What I need to know is, once the Ampmeter is set to the correct Amperage , which of the probes are used , is is there one across the main fuse ie posative , neutral either side - across ?

thank you for the assistance


Fahr

Can a votage measurement and a calculation arrive back at Amperage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2009, 02:08 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,839
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fahr
Thanks Vince
What I need to know is, once the Ampmeter is set to the correct Amperage , which of the probes are used , is is there one across the main fuse ie posative , neutral either side - across ?

thank you for the assistance
Fahr.
You must find the main power feed wire to your fuse panel, disconnect it at the source and place the positive amp meter lead where you lifted that wire. Place the negative amp meter lead on the wire you lifted. Now all the current will be flowing through your amp meter.

Warning: make sure the wire size you are using for your amp meter is of sufficient size to handle the anticipated load.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fahr
Can a voltage measurement and a calculation arrive back at Amperage.
You cannot figure amperage with just a voltage measurement you must have one other factor in the formula as follows.


To find voltage, [V = I x R] V(volts) = I (amps) x R(ohms)

To find current, [I = V / R] I(amps) = V (volts) / R(ohms)

To find resistance. [R = V / I] R(ohms) = V (volts) / I(amps)

Vince

Last edited by 302 Z28; 06-13-2009 at 02:17 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2009, 09:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,757
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 66 Times in 64 Posts
Most small hobby "ammeters" measure milliamps, and do not have a scale high enough to use on a car. If you put one inline in the circuit, it will probably fry the ammeter.

Automotive ammeters usually have a shunt arrangement (which has a known resistance) that uses the formulas listed by 302 Z28. The principle is that if you measure the voltage at two points, and have a known resistance between the two points (that is the value of the shunt), the meter can calculate an amperage.

Another option is one of the inductance ammeters, where the meter probes are shaped like two short arcs, and you just surround the wire where you want to measure amperage. They are more expensive meters, but you don't have to disconnect any wires to use them.

Bruce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2009, 07:20 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,839
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 75gmck25
Another option is one of the inductance ammeters, where the meter probes are shaped like two short arcs, and you just surround the wire where you want to measure amperage. They are more expensive meters, but you don't have to disconnect any wires to use them.
Bruce
In industry those are known as "CT's" (current transducers) and are commonly used on large motors. The CT is placed on the "T" leads of the motor to measure amperage. Three phase motors will typically have one on each phase leg.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Checking V-P clearance after head mill... 540neverdone Engine 6 05-17-2009 07:04 PM
Need to upgrade to higher amperage alt. Jmark Electrical 3 11-27-2007 08:51 AM
Checking Amp Draw with a Multimeter... 71gtx Electrical 6 05-28-2007 07:57 AM
12 Volt battery Amperage check? tm454 Electrical 7 01-28-2003 12:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.