Chevy 350 with 292 cam Total timing - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2010, 09:31 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Chevy 350 with 292 cam Total timing

Hello. I have a Question on timing. im new to this Vac adacne timing and total timing stuff, but then again im only 17 lol. but i have a 350 bored 60 over with a summit 292/292 duration .488/.488 lift. and edelbrock intake and 650 holley and mds STREETFIRE HEI distruibter. my question is. I have it at 8 degrees for timing. but now from what i been reading i might need more than that? the motor seems kinda ball less if someone could tell me step by step on how to time this thing. it would be great. somone said my totaly timing should be 34 degrees? is that with the vaccum adavace hooked up? or without. and at what rpm should be running? 3000? i didnt get any specs with the cam from summit. I guess maybe if i bought a comp cam or lunai or somitng i would of. but any help would be great..

thanks
NATE

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-28-2010, 12:05 PM

Last photo:

http://www.corvette-restoration.com/.../Timing101.pdf

http://www.corvette-restoration.com/...ine_Timing.pdf

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/SUM-1106/
Old 08-28-2010, 01:38 PM
Licenced Automotive Technician

Last photo:

You need waaaay more initial than that. I would guess 18-22 degrees initial, with 34-36 total, depending on your heads.
Old 08-28-2010, 02:16 PM

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChevyMopar318250