Chevy 4.3 to 350 or 454 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2006, 03:01 PM
brains

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Chevy 4.3 to 350 or 454

Hi, Im a Ford V8 expert, but know nothing about chevys. I bought a 21 foot Scarab boat and as fate would have it, it happens to have a GM motor in it, it says on the top 4.3L 205/V6. Not knowing anything about GM Im assuming its a 205hp motor. The boat runs 55mph now with its current V6 and I want to get it up to 70mph. I have been told that any 350 or 454 chevy motor will bolt in other then the exhaust. This would make me think that the V6,350,454 share the same crankshaft bolt pattern??? I dont want a killer race motor and guessing that something in the 300 to 350hp range would be nice. I have found both 454's and 350's at good prices, but which would be better for a boat application. Im not sure what the weight difference is between the two are or what the torque difference is. Can you hold a BB chevy at 5000rpms without tearing it up? Basically I just need a few characteristics of the two motors instead of starting a BB/SB debate

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-21-2006, 05:06 PM
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel

Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: Found an LQ9 today
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 16

In automotive applications anyway, the cranks have different bolt patterns. But, the outdrive manufacturer would have the proper drive flange for whatever one you want.