chevy balancing questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2013, 06:09 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

chevy balancing questions

hey there guys,

i kinda have two builds going on here and i'm still new to all this. both are 1 pc rear main seal SBCs.

one is a hot 350 with a redline intended to be somewhere over 7krpm and 450-ish hp. questions on this later.

other one is a mild L98 rebuild going in a 3rdgen F. i have this crank http://www.summitracing.com/parts/nal-14088526 and was gonna use stock L98 pistons and rods. bores on the block will check out fine with just a hone according to machinist. am i gonna run into issues with no balancing on this one? this one should be done soon.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-24-2013, 07:01 AM
WFO

Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 1616

Quote:
Originally Posted by janus View Post
hey there guys,

i kinda have two builds going on here and i'm still new to all this. both are 1 pc rear main seal SBCs.

one is a hot 350 with a redline intended to be somewhere over 7krpm and 450-ish hp. questions on this later.

other one is a mild L98 rebuild going in a 3rdgen F. i have this crank http://www.summitracing.com/parts/nal-14088526 and was gonna use stock L98 pistons and rods. bores on the block will check out fine with just a hone according to machinist. am i gonna run into issues with no balancing on this one? this one should be done soon.
Obviously, dynamic balancing is preferred. But if the budget is so tight that this isn't possible, you can at least static balance the rods and match the pistons to the lightest one.