Chevy crankshaft bolt - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2008, 04:31 PM
69DartGT's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 72
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Chevy crankshaft bolt

Nieghbor is replacing the harmonic balancer on the 307 in his Camero, it did not have a bolt holding the balancer on is this possible for a 307 not to require a bolt.
Engine is still in the car and looking at the end of the crank with a mirror and flashlight it looks like either the old bolt was broken off way back when or it doesn't require one.
Ever heard of a 307 not using a bolt to hold the harmonic balancer on?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2008, 05:17 PM
justold's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: South Jersey
Age: 66
Posts: 188
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
yes .
early sbc didn't require a bolt ,I don't recall what year they started to use a bolt .[a little help here ]
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2008, 07:15 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: texas
Age: 69
Posts: 527
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It's not strtictly a date thing.
I know that a '66 350HP 327 had a crankshaft bolt, but a '64 220HP 283 didn't. Maybe there was a time that only the "high perfromance" engines got them, then later, all did. Not sure.
JA
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2008, 09:54 PM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I've seen pre 1970 chevy's 6 and V8's with no threads and press on balancers. These were all light duty trucks, or smaller cars.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-30-2008, 09:14 PM
MI2600's Avatar
Member# 3287
 

Last journal entry: Vortec Heads
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Muskegon, MI
Posts: 2,632
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
All of the 305s should have had bolts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:05 PM
69DartGT's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 72
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MI2600
All of the 305s should have had bolts.
Okay but this is a 307?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:18 PM
super_silent's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 127
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a 67, 327, 275 HP and it has no bolt either.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2008, 03:01 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: kansas
Posts: 47
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
the 307 in my 71 el camino did not have a bolt on the crank. I took the balancer off to replace it. Now having trouble putting it on. I rented a kit to instal it; but none of the adapters fit. I had to get a bolt from the hardware store. It fits but I am weary of using my impact to screw it on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2008, 04:22 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 6,691
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 403 Times in 348 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 69DartGT
Nieghbor is replacing the harmonic balancer on the 307 in his Camero, it did not have a bolt holding the balancer on is this possible for a 307 not to require a bolt.
Engine is still in the car and looking at the end of the crank with a mirror and flashlight it looks like either the old bolt was broken off way back when or it doesn't require one.
Ever heard of a 307 not using a bolt to hold the harmonic balancer on?
Chevy dampers were/are a press fit. The finance people didn't think the cost of a bolt was warranted since it fit so tightly. Apparently GM's finance people drive Fords.

Anyway, bolts on the front damper as more than a hit and miss proposition is a fairly recent invention at GM.

307's are old enough to be in that period where more likely than not it's not. Even though the end of the crank is threaded. Bolts for this can be had at the parts store along with the appropropiate really thick washer. Make sure the threads are clean before running a bolt in there. If it takes a lot of force to pull the damper on with the bolt, carfully sand the inside of the damper hub and outside of the crank with a light oil and about 220 wet dry paper. Sand a little and retry, when it fits smoothly and snugly, you're there. If the end of the crank isn't threaded, then installation of the damper is a shop process with tools and a press. Never hammer on the damper and if making a home made press, allways apply force only on the hub.

If the damper fell off and there are no threads for a bolt in the crank, there will be an on-center tooling hole, this can be tapped to accept a bolt. Chevy typically uses a 7/16s 20 thread to the inch bolt for this.

Bogie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2008, 04:31 PM
DeathRattle's Avatar
Some Punk Kid
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Michigan
Age: 27
Posts: 787
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
My 72 or 73 (I forget which) 307 has the bolt. As oldbogie said do it the right way, dont beat it on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2008, 10:37 PM
TooMany2count's Avatar
A Half Crippled Old SOB....
 
Last wiki edit: GM RPO build codes Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cahokia,IL..... Donate Blood Products & Sign your DONORS CARD
Posts: 807
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I just drilled & tapped my 68-307, didn't wanta have one of the OMFG days "if" it would decide to do the unthinkable. Easy to do & cheap insurance. Ya need a 3/16 drill bit to predrill a starter hole, then a 25/64ths drill bit & a fine thread 7/16ths - 20 tap...joe
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2008, 08:45 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: kansas
Posts: 47
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I thought a 7/16 wouldn't fit my crank, but today I bought a tap and cleaned the threads. Then I got a crank bolt set from the parts store and it fit fine. I used a hardware store bolt to crank the balancer on with my 1/2" impact. It went on fine. I put the crank bolt and washer on over the pulley. The reason I changed the balancer was a "knock" that appeared just after I changed my intake over to an aluminum one. The car idles too fast now and doesn't want to kick down to slow idle. I will probably get the timing set in the next day or two. I hope it straightens out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9" ford with chevy bolt pattern retired 56 Transmission - Rearend 4 02-17-2008 10:44 AM
8.5 10 Bolt Chevy Info Needed jsteve068 Transmission - Rearend 6 09-26-2005 04:09 PM
chevy lug bolt size? KNanthrup Transmission - Rearend 4 08-27-2005 09:41 PM
Chevy accesory bolt holes. Palmer Engine 1 02-08-2004 08:42 PM
307 chevy bolt on? Heathster Engine 7 01-10-2003 10:37 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.