chevy operating temps and heating up problems!! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2007, 11:54 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

chevy operating temps and heating up problems!!

well i got ahold of a isuzu truck with a chevy 350 in it. but im having problems with it heating up.now i only have the factory gauge off of the isuzu truck so im not sure if maybe the gauge might not be working properly with the engine. im going to go buy an aftermarket gauge tomorrow so now i would like to know whats the normal operating temps so that i can test it tomorrow and hopefully its not the motor heating up. im new to the whole v8 scene so im sorry if any of my questions are ignorant! but i really appreciate any help!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-26-2007, 11:59 PM

Last photo:

my truck is a 1991 Isuzu truck w/ a carb. 350 out of an older Chevy truck.Driveline:
Carb.ed Chevy 350 w/ 262cam, new waterpump, 160 t-stat, billet pulleys, fresh rebuild on Edlbrock 750 Carb, Edl. performer intake man., new timing chain and gears w/ chrome cover, HEI dist., new plugs and wires, electric fan, relocated battery (to bed), New multi color tach, 2 year old turbo 350 trans w/ shiftkit, Monte Carlo drive shaft, S10 rear axle w/ 3.08 gear, adapters for 6 lug rims on rear, new tries in rear, tru dual exhaust w turndowns under bed.
Old 03-27-2007, 04:27 AM

You didn't mention what kind of fan & shroud you have. I had a problem heating up until I installed an electric fan with a complete shroud for the radiator and located the temp switch near the thermostat on the intake. Once I did this the cooling problems were solved.
Old 03-27-2007, 06:46 AM