Chop Top F100 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-31-2009, 08:47 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Chop Top F100

I have a 66 F100 and was thinking of chopping the top. I want to chop about 3-4 inches out of the front only so that the top is slanted downward towards the front end. I know how to do body work, paint, etc but im not very good at welding. Does anyone know an estimate on how much that would cost? The cab is completely stripped of the interior, glass, etc and is off the frame so its just a bare cab. None of the finish work like filler or primer would need to be completed as I would do that myself. Pretty much just need the welding and metal fabrication done. I live in southern IL, does anyone know any shops in this area capable of a quality chop? The windshield is curved as well and thats one of the 2 issues that is holding me back right now. Any suggestions on what to about that? Any price estimate on a custom windshield? The second issue that is holding me back is the side windows. They are flat but they have vent windows as well. Would it be easier to remove the vent windows and make it just a single pane of glass? What about the window weatherstripping, etc if I were to make a single plane glass for the side? Any estimate on this kind of chop with just the metal fabricating and welding is greatly appreciated. Any advice and other estimates are greatly appreciated as well.

Here is a truck similar to mine to give you an idea.

Here is the actual picture of my truck. This was before it was completely disassembled. Its nothing but a bare frame now.

Can anyone photoshop these pics with the chop that I posted about above?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message