Chopped top 74 Superbeetle - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2004, 04:44 PM
Custom paint... its what I do.

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Chopped top 74 Superbeetle

Ok guys, (and girls) I need some help. My 12 year old son and I recently bought his first car with the plan of having him help build it and help PAY FOR IT, in the hopes that he respects it more when its done (my dad did this with me and it WORKS!!) Anyway, I've built some tough stuff in my years ('66 corvette convert-427/4speed - that was my FIRST car!! '71 Pro street nova 402 BB, '54 Chevy Pickup-348 dual quad) But I've never chopped a top. I'm a certified Welder/fabricator, and now run a custom cycle painting shop (MaxxMuscle Custom Cycle Painting!!) so I know my way around pretty well. What we bought is a 74 VW Superbeetle, don't freak cuz were gonna cut it, its had a rough life!! The floors are rusted and the body has its share of dents, and the motor is gone. I want to do a 3-4" chop on it, but am a little aprehensive due to the shear curvasousness of the thing!! We already have the drivetrain, GM 4.3 V-6 W/4BBL Intake(of course being mounted upfront!!), 700R-4 OD Trans, Ford 8.8 Indy rear, Custom frontend setup, 15" & 17" MHT Splitz wheels, and I'm fabbing a full frame for it! Not to be concerned with the "cut glass" issue, as Lexan works great and lasts a LONG time!! Back to the top, I need someone who has actually done this preferably, but welcome all suggestions and comments! Thanks in advance!!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-28-2004, 06:10 PM
Love your nails! You must be a Libra

Last photo: