Chopping Top On Old Semi - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2011, 01:01 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Chopping Top On Old Semi

Hello, new here.

I was searching around for some info on chopping the the roof down on my KW and didnt get too far so figured id see if somebody could point me in the right direction. I havent decided yet how far I would like to chop it, or if I would like to add a Rake to it

Im completely new to this so dont be afraid to point out the obvious to me.

My two main questions are what to do to get the a-pillar lined back up? do you bend it and get custom glass or stretch the roof to meet it.

What do you do about windows and windsheilds.

I have attached a picture and can get a better one if needed. I will also be chopping the sleeper down to match the cab of the truck.

Thank you.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-31-2011, 04:51 PM

Last photo:

I love the old Kitty Whoppers. I have never seen one with a chop job but I bet it will be a challenge. I like them with a visor mounted and all dolled up.But it's your baby.Good luck.
Old 07-31-2011, 06:32 PM

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo:

Sounds like you have considered your options. I personally would rake the pillars back by removing a notch in the bottom and rewelding. You would do the same with the door window opening. Of course you would have to cut new glass, which I would just get a good glass cutter to trim the old glass to the new shape. Shortening the sleeper should be relatively easy and straight forward.