Chugs and dies - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2013, 01:29 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Chugs and dies

Guys - I am working with a Chevy 350 in my '63 Avanti and the car was a 'barn find' I've been working on for several months.

I drained the old gas, as it'd been sitting for several years and besides shellac-like consistency which I would expect in really old gas, I didn't see any crud or particles.
Still, I know old gas tanks can harbor lots of junk and I've been changing my fuel filter every few weeks since getting it back on the road.

I've only got about 120 miles on it since replacing the tired old 305 that was in it with a 350 in good shape and a rebuilt TH350 tranny. (I hate automatics) Lately the car has begun dying on me and the frequency is getting shorter and shorter. Now I can't go down my street without it acting as though it's being fuel starved and quitting. I coast the the side, count to 100 and away I go for another 1/2 mile then it dies again.

Could this be my coil? It's an HEI system and I'd be willing to stick a VOM on the right contacts to test it, but I have no clue where to poke and am fully aware I could dispatch myself to the next life with a wrong poke.

Any ideas? I hate to start replacing things i think might be wrong. BTDT.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-16-2013, 01:31 PM

Last photo:

Here's what I see with the top off.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-03-16 12.13.05.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	982.3 KB
ID:	72309  
Old 03-16-2013, 02:06 PM
Out of the Loop Moderator

Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 5