Clean Environment Before Paint!!!!!!! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2007, 12:25 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Clean Environment Before Paint!!!!!!!

To all you expert fellows out there:
I'm planning to paint my 68 Firebird at the beginning of next week(mon,tues.) I am planning on cleaning my paint/body room in my shop this weekend. It has tin ceilings,and pegboard walls, and 4 ft shop lights. (your basic poor boor hot rod shop) We just added this on this past year and this will be my first paint job in it. I've been doing body work in it for the past 6 months and theres a great deal of dust EVERYWHERE. This may sound stupid to you guys, and I'm not an idiot I'm just curious. How is the best way to eliminate as much dust and trash and possible. I thought about dry dusting everything that i could (lights, beam, door frames, etc....) then pressure washing the ceiling and floor. I really don't want to get the pegboard wet and I was wandering if there were any tricks out there...swiffer cleaners, california dusters, whatever......I just want the cleanest environment possible to paint in. I plan on cleaning and letting the room set 36-48 hrs before painting.

Also how is the best way to minimize dust in the air while I paint. I have two windows and a 10 ft roll up door. I think to minimize dust in the air the windows should be closed and maybe a box fan blowing out the door (with maybe some central unit air filters on both sides of the fan) kinda shut the door down on the fan. Any other ideas on minimizing dust before painting would be appreciated. I'll try to post some pics in my photo album so you guys can see what im trying to clean.

thanks
southernrodder

Advertisement