Cleaning an o2 sensor? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-10-2007, 10:56 AM
weirdbeard's Avatar
1976 Ranchero GT
 

Last journal entry: Almost time for the first drive!
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ala BAMA! (Gump)
Age: 8
Posts: 1,454
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Cleaning an o2 sensor?

Has anyone ever had any luck cleaning an o2 sensor. If so how? I have two pretty new sensors that I think are bad. So I have nothing to lose by trying to clean them.

    Advertisement

Last edited by weirdbeard; 11-11-2007 at 11:48 AM. Reason: I spelled think like thing. I am only one year old!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-10-2007, 12:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 725
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Pull them out, if they're covered in black soot wipe them off then put them back in, run the engine at 2000 rpm or so in neutral until they start switching between rich and lean. If they don't they're no good. From reading your other posts they're probably fine and you have a fuel or ignition problem. There are some liquid gasket compounds that will kill an O2 sensor also. They'll usually say right on the tube if they're ok to use on O2 sensor equipped vehicles.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-10-2007, 04:23 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,332
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
some RTV's are non o2 sensor safe, most are but some
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2007, 10:53 AM
weirdbeard's Avatar
1976 Ranchero GT
 

Last journal entry: Almost time for the first drive!
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ala BAMA! (Gump)
Age: 8
Posts: 1,454
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ernkazern
Pull them out, if they're covered in black soot wipe them off then put them back in, run the engine at 2000 rpm or so in neutral until they start switching between rich and lean. If they don't they're no good. From reading your other posts they're probably fine and you have a fuel or ignition problem. There are some liquid gasket compounds that will kill an O2 sensor also. They'll usually say right on the tube if they're ok to use on O2 sensor equipped vehicles.
Yeah thats what got me thinking I killed my o2 sensors by cleaning the MAF with deoxit contact cleaner. I never stopped to think that it might hurt the o2s. I don't think my scanner will show the sensors switching. I just get freeze frame data. I got what I paid for.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2007, 07:13 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,332
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by weirdbeard
Yeah thats what got me thinking I killed my o2 sensors by cleaning the MAF with deoxit contact cleaner. I never stopped to think that it might hurt the o2s. I don't think my scanner will show the sensors switching. I just get freeze frame data. I got what I paid for.
probe the sensor w/ a dvom. it's a voltage generator
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2007, 08:37 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: How to title a hot rod Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: West Virginia
Age: 24
Posts: 3,389
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Would Eyther hurt an O2 sensor?Only thing I have ever used it for besides putting tires back on their beads(I know bad Idea) is for cleaning sparkplugs,But if an engine was soaked with eyther couldd it hurt the O2 sensor,Probabally what poped the head gasket.
Shane
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2007, 10:09 AM
weirdbeard's Avatar
1976 Ranchero GT
 

Last journal entry: Almost time for the first drive!
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ala BAMA! (Gump)
Age: 8
Posts: 1,454
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt167
probe the sensor w/ a dvom. it's a voltage generator
I don't see a good way to probe it. I am afraid that I will just make another problem for myself.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2007, 12:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 725
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
You can back probe the O2 sensor signal wire at the ECM or at the first connector safely. I use a safety pin and connect my DVOM to the safety pin. Just be sure the safety pin doesn't ground to something. You're right in not wanting to puncture the O2 signal wire at the O2 sensor. Most of the newer O2 sensors use a shielded wire casing that shouldn't be punctured. At 2000 RPM the voltage reading should fluctuate between roughly .2 and .8 volts. I think I mentioned this before, but have you done a voltage drop test on all of the power and ground circuits for the ECM?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2007, 01:15 PM
schnitz's Avatar
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Building a new shop
Last journal entry: Christmas 2008 came early!!!
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wausau, Wisconsin, in a house...
Age: 39
Posts: 1,163
Wiki Edits: 54

Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I think it was you who I described the Actron Sensor scan tool to, and it worked for me with no problems. I just had to heat it hot enough to get it to switch.

In a while, Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2007, 02:33 PM
weirdbeard's Avatar
1976 Ranchero GT
 

Last journal entry: Almost time for the first drive!
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ala BAMA! (Gump)
Age: 8
Posts: 1,454
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thats a good idea about using a safety pin to back probe the harness connector. The probes on my multi meter are way to big.
My Actron scanner does not show live data. It is still a helpful tool.
I don't know what a voltage drop test is. Is that where you read voltage at one place and then farther down the line and compare?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2007, 03:09 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,909
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Anyone tried the propane torch trick to test a sensor? I had heard of it but was afraid to try it until I read about it in the Auto Zone repair guide. I never could get a reading but I am not sure if the sensor was bad, maybe I did something wrong or was just afraid to heat it hot enough? Whatever, I never could tell if it worked or not and was just curious if anyone else has tried this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2007, 04:20 PM
weirdbeard's Avatar
1976 Ranchero GT
 

Last journal entry: Almost time for the first drive!
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ala BAMA! (Gump)
Age: 8
Posts: 1,454
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Seems like there would be to much oxygen for the sensor to produce voltage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cavalier O2 sensor ? Eric64 Engine 8 04-11-2006 06:07 PM
O2 sensor problem william27103 Engine 2 01-06-2006 04:55 PM
'94 LT1: rough idle plus O2 sensor question hduff Engine 2 12-10-2005 02:04 PM
O2 Sensor? 97Z28 Engine 2 11-17-2005 09:39 PM
O2 sensor crshrmn3 Engine 2 09-01-2003 01:12 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.