Hot Rod Forum banner

The clear test.

10K views 55 replies 17 participants last post by  evilone 
#1 ·
I thought this test may interest some of you.
The only painting I get to do anymore is my restorations and I have been doing them the same since 1985, apply three coats of clear and wet sanding the clear with 800-1200 and reclearing.
A lot of the rod builders use the same method. The painter from one of the big builders who for years has used the same procedure asked me a few weeks ago if there is a gloss difference between 800-1200?
I told him I just figured it would be best with the finer grit.
Here is what I did.

I took 5 - 1’x2’ panels epoxied and shot two coats of black base. I let them set for two days to make sure there were no solvents left in the base.
I shot 3 coats of a high solids clear with no flash time so none of the panels would have the benefit of a minute or two longer flash.
Next day I blocked a panel with 320 dry, one with 400 dry, 600 wet, 800 wet and 1200 wet.
Then shot two more coats of clear over each panel.

I let the panels set for 48 hours at room temp of 80 degrees and metal temp of 72 degrees.

The gloss meter I used is a cheap one with a cost of $5500 but has an accuracy rating of 95%. But across the board in this case there would be no variance for the readings were doing.

I would assume the 1200 would have the best gloss, right? Totally wrong!
The 320 won hands down and each panel loss gloss as the grits got finer.
There was a difference of 18% gloss between the 320 and the 1200.
I called a chemist friend at one major and he could not believe it and called another at another one and he said ,”oh we did that test 7 years ago” Just didn’t think the painters needed to know.

This is just backwards from what I thought it would be.
Oh, just bought a sleeve of 320 wet sanding papers.

See less See more
#2 ·