Color sanding - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2005, 12:38 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Color sanding

I am a beginner to color sanding with 3M finishing film so I had a few questions:

I have some 800 grit, 1200 grit and 1500 grit 3M finishing film disks. I was planning to start with the 800 and then proceed to use the 1200 and then the 1500. I am wondering if there is any benefit in the quality of finish if one proceeds with the small increments in film grit sizes? Is it worthwhile for me to purchase some 1000 grit and go from 800-1000-1200-1500 or is that a waste? Maybe just going from 800 to 1500 will suffice?

Another question I have is I already have/use an orbital palm sander that has a 3/16 orbit....is this sufficient to use with the 3M finishing film or would it be worthwhile to purchase a new orbital sander with a 3/32 oribit? THanks.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-17-2005, 01:32 PM

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by esahlin
I am a beginner to color sanding with 3M finishing film so I had a few questions:

I have some 800 grit, 1200 grit and 1500 grit 3M finishing film disks. I was planning to start with the 800 and then proceed to use the 1200 and then the 1500. I am wondering if there is any benefit in the quality of finish if one proceeds with the small increments in film grit sizes? Is it worthwhile for me to purchase some 1000 grit and go from 800-1000-1200-1500 or is that a waste? Maybe just going from 800 to 1500 will suffice?