compressor for air bags wont turn on! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2010, 07:30 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 27
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
compressor for air bags wont turn on!

Ok guys this isnt a hot rod question. But a very good friend of mine needs some help big time! I dont know much about air bags so I could use your help.

He got his hands on an 89 s-10 that was body dropped and full air bag suspension. It has one compressor and a holding tank 7 way switches for the bags. The problem is this.

The compressor works when it wants to! He will be out all day no problems. He will have fun messing with the bags lifting it and he will lay frame when he parks.

Sometimes when he gets back in the truck and turns on the truck the compressor wont turn on.

I almost think it could be a short because I wiggle all the wires then a few seconds later it turns on. Then other times i just hit the compressor hard and it turns on.

What are some ideas? What should I look at first?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2010, 07:35 PM
1969NovaSS's Avatar
turbo lag......yeeeeehaaaaaaw
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: oxnard,ca
Age: 27
Posts: 685
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
If you can wiggle it and it starts up it sounds like a loose connection. I would check the power at the compressor and wiggle the wires. If it fluctuates just trace the wire up to a connection and do the test again till it stops fluctuating and you can pinpoint were the problem is. Also, make sure you have a very good ground as it could cause this as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2010, 07:55 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 27
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Should the ground be by itself? It has 2 other wires going to the same screw for the ground.

Its going to be very hard to trace any wires right now. Its sitting on the ground right now lol plus its raining like crazy. But I will do that if it decides to work again. Thank you for the idea.




What about realys? Could they be the cause of this? Or the pressure switch? Or the compressor itself?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2010, 08:03 PM
1969NovaSS's Avatar
turbo lag......yeeeeehaaaaaaw
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: oxnard,ca
Age: 27
Posts: 685
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
It could very well be those things wrong with it but you cant condemn any of those till you know that its getting full power. I understand about the rain our just started today and its not supposed to stop till next week.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-18-2010, 12:37 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 27
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hes thinking of just getting a new compressor set up.

Dual Viair 400c compressors are they good?

He has a 5 gallon tank are those compressors a good choice for him? He likes to play with the bags but not all the time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2010, 07:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 11
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey Viair is a very good compressor. And two is more than enough for a 5 gallon tank. My most educated guess (over a computer) is bad/loose ground or a faulty pressure switch. If it's a bad pressure switch I would go with an adjustable Square D. You can get them at suicidedoors.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2010, 07:30 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 27
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I still havent been able to look at it the rain is going to be here all week.

I believe he already ordered a pressure switch thinking that would fix it. I hope it does fix it. He is still bumming rides from friends. I know how that feels and it sucks.

I do believe hes still going to upgrade to the dual compressors tho just for faster air up times.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2010, 07:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 11
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does he not have safety fill lines installed? It's a tire fill valve made on to 1/4" line. You run one to the front and one to the rear in between the normal fill valves and airbags. Then you just fill the bags up to ride height and your still have an operational vehicle until you get the problem figured out. I have them on my S-10 and use it for cycling the suspension while I'm still building it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2010, 08:37 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 27
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No he does not have those. . . That he or I know of.

See he traded his old vehicle for this s-10. He did not put the bags on and he doesnt know who did.

All I know about this trucks air bags is its a Firestone setup. I dont know what kind/size of compressor he has on there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2010, 06:11 PM
eloc431962's Avatar
Evil Wicked Mean And Nasty
 
Last wiki edit: Pilot bearing and bushings
Last journal entry: roof repair
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: back in the garage.
Posts: 13,767
Wiki Edits: 37

Thanks: 50
Thanked 28 Times in 24 Posts
The relay on my sons truck use to go bad and the compressor would not come on. So he started carrying a couple extra with him. And it was usually raining when he had problems or it just happened that way.JMO

Cole
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2010, 09:27 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 27
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok so the rain finally stop. I replaced the relays and the pressure switch. I followed the lines from the battery to the relays as best I can (they are hidden).

I checked the relays many times and they are hooked up properly. The ground is strong. Unless there is a fuse in the power line to the relays I cant find, it should work and its not. Does this mean the compressor itself is bad?

I check all my connections the ground its all good, new relays and a new pressure switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Suspension - Brakes - Steering posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Valve lash question motorhead454 Engine 3 09-02-2008 12:08 AM
Timing a 350 oke02206 Engine 1 08-03-2008 02:27 PM
turn signal issues blufftonboy Electrical 5 05-29-2006 10:44 PM
crazy right turn signal fasteddiesage Electrical 6 02-07-2006 11:33 AM
no turn signals fasteddiesage Electrical 9 12-16-2005 05:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.