Compressor Breaker Size - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2012, 11:54 AM
daveh's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 302
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Compressor Breaker Size

Hey guys,

I just bought the following Quincy 60 gallon compressor and it's being delivered next week. My question is what breaker size do I need? I know to go with #10 wire. The Northern Tool site in the Q&A portion says a 30 amp breaker. I called Quincy and they said that NEC says it should be a 50 amp breaker. Just trying to have it all ready before it arrives, what do I need? Thanks for your help. I had a 40 amp breaker on my old compressor in MD, It was a 7.5, 80 gallon unit.

Dave

FREE SHIPPING — Quincy Compressor Reciprocating Air Compressor — 5 HP, 230 Volt Single Phase, Model# 2V41C60VC | 19 CFM Below| Northern Tool + Equipment

    Advertisement

Last edited by daveh; 07-20-2012 at 12:04 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2012, 12:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: illinois
Posts: 383
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 32 Posts
I wouldn't go bigger than 30 amp w/ 10 ga. wire. Description says 21 amps so you should be good . JMO

dave
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2012, 01:00 PM
daveh's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 302
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
That's what I thought thanks It's weird then why would the manufacturer say 50amp? I know he was quoting the NEC codes. Still weird
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2012, 01:15 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 360
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It's pulling 21 amps.. It will pull more at start up, but shouldn't flip the breaker. I'm running 10 gauge, 30 amp breaker, and my compressor pulls 23 amps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2012, 02:11 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: General Motors transmissions Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: near Yellowstone park
Posts: 4,479
Wiki Edits: 27

Thanks: 13
Thanked 285 Times in 265 Posts
Elect code

Code calculations are based on amps for continous draw, starting load, AND distance, Most of the time your compressor will not be running continously. I worked at one place that made welded metal products. when production increaced we ran low on air. they put fans in the compressor room and had garden sprinklers spraying water on the ground mounted electrical transformers, The breaker is to protect the wiring from overheating and causing a fire. and is the wiring in a couduit? And the code has regs for conduit size vs number of conductors and their sizes. and insulation types. When feasable I usually upsize the wiring and breaker. Then have the electrician put in cartridge fuses at the equipment to protect the Motor. And when you decide to go to a bigger compressor It's easier. if you get a big blast cabinet , you will always need more air. In my old shop the lights would dim when someone was welding and the compressor kicked in. It was wired to meet the codes and I used the minimum sizes allowed to save money.

Last edited by timothale; 07-20-2012 at 02:20 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 7.5 hp Compressor. What breaker and wire size?? roger1 Electrical 18 01-01-2012 12:21 PM
welder fuse panel breaker size? jss Garage - Tools 35 11-07-2010 06:54 AM
air compressor size miamipops Garage - Tools 1 04-27-2010 08:17 AM
Compressor Tank Size Morgan22 Garage - Tools 24 01-31-2008 07:06 AM
What size Compressor? johnnymopar Garage - Tools 5 01-12-2004 04:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.