Compressor Confusion - Page 9 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #121 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2011, 09:47 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: issaquah wa
Posts: 53
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well now that is a let down. I can see the list of issues. Is there a way to test if the parts match like they should? Could I change out the switch? I guess it is back to waiting to afford the HF. Now HF sells the compressing piece so I could use the motor and the tank and change out the Brazilian compressor and the safety switch.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #122 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2011, 10:37 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lake Havasu AZ.
Posts: 160
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It's three phase! 3 phase electric is not usually found in home garages. In order to get 3 phase you'll end up spending way more that that compressor is even worth. Not to mention 3 phase motors are extremely expensive to run.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #123 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2011, 10:57 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lake Havasu AZ.
Posts: 160
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What I did was found a 60 gallon Speedaire at a garage sale "cheap". After I got it home I found that the cylinder head had some damage to it and it's super expensive for replacement parts. So I purchased an Eaton Head unit and bolted her up. I basically have a brand new compressor for $300. Not exactly super heavy duty, but it's at least rated for continuous use, and it's quiet. Look for a "single phase" compressor on Craigslist or at garage sales, double check the tank for excessive water or rust. Slap some new parts on her and your good to go! As long as the tank is good, every thing else can be replaced with higher quality components.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #124 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2011, 11:08 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: issaquah wa
Posts: 53
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by frodin1
It's three phase! 3 phase electric is not usually found in home garages. In order to get 3 phase you'll end up spending way more that that compressor is even worth. Not to mention 3 phase motors are extremely expensive to run.
It says 220/440 does that not mean it will do both?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #125 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2011, 01:36 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,909
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
I completely missed that 3 phase requirement, that's enough by itself to pass on it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by eastsidebuzz
It says 220/440 does that not mean it will do both?

Yes that's what it means, you can run it on either 220 or 440 volts BUT it must be three phase, you definitely won't have three phase power available at home. Generally three phase motors can be run on single phase power with the addition of a phase converter but running compressors on such a set-up is not really a good idea.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #126 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2011, 01:39 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,909
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by frodin1
Not to mention 3 phase motors are extremely expensive to run.

Three phase equipment is not at all expensive to run compared to single phase. Granted hooking up tp three phase power can be really expensive since it is for commercial use but three phase motors are very economical to run.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #127 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2011, 11:45 AM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 47 Chevy pickup
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: valrico, fl
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
air compressor

any feedback on a Ingersoll Rand 60 gallon? Northern tool has it on sale for $850 right now, free shipping, if you buy the start up pack for an extra $80 it extends the warranty an additional year...

Key Specs
CFM at 90 PSI 18.1
Max. PSI 135
Volts 230
Amps 22.5
HP 5
Air Tank Size (gal.) 60
Tank Description Vertical
Pump Single-stage, oil-lubricated, belt-driven
Air Outlet Size (in.) 1/2
Portable or Stationary Stationary
Dimensions L x W x H (in.) 20 x 30 x 71
Manufacturer Warranty 12 months parts / 12 months labor
Ship Weight 450.0 lbs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #128 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2011, 02:40 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,909
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyx123
any feedback on a Ingersoll Rand 60 gallon? Northern tool has it on sale for $850 right now, free shipping, if you buy the start up pack for an extra $80 it extends the warranty an additional year...

Key Specs
CFM at 90 PSI 18.1
Max. PSI 135
Volts 230
Amps 22.5
HP 5
Air Tank Size (gal.) 60
Tank Description Vertical
Pump Single-stage, oil-lubricated, belt-driven
Air Outlet Size (in.) 1/2
Portable or Stationary Stationary
Dimensions L x W x H (in.) 20 x 30 x 71
Manufacturer Warranty 12 months parts / 12 months labor
Ship Weight 450.0 lbs

You evidently have not bothered to read many posts since that thing has been discussed several times lately, even in this thread!


Basically there are several points of interest, first that 18.1 CFM rating is just flat out ridiculous and the real compressor dealers like Compressors Direct rate them at a more believable 15+ and that's being generous.


Same compressor but from a compressor dealer,

http://www.aircompressorsdirect.com/...ssor/p689.html



Next and even more important is they have a KNOWN motor problem that has been discussed here and on several other sites, in fact we have one thread here that has four different owners complaining about burned out motors on these things on low time compressors-four of them at the same time in one thread! Also whether it matters to you or not they are not industrial Ingersol Rand compressors, they are made by Shanghai Xinran Compressor Co., Ltd in China and imported by IR.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #129 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2011, 03:23 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 47 Chevy pickup
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: valrico, fl
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ingersoll rand

I read thru over 100 of them, lol, but didn't come across those comments.
thanks for the info!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #130 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2011, 05:49 PM
Old Fool's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: spokane,wa.
Posts: 1,345
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
My IR works great

Last edited by Old Fool; 06-15-2011 at 05:56 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #131 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2011, 06:45 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,909
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
I'm sure not every IR of this model has suffered motor problems, obviously most of them don't, but there have been enough complaints here and on some other sites to safely say it is a very common problem and worth mentioning. Another member posted that he believes the problem may be using wire that's too small and maybe so but the problem does not seem to extend to other makes, other brands suffer motor failures also but the IR model in particular sure seems to come up a lot! Doing a google search on this problem is quite revealing so it is well documented and whenever someone asks about them it is only fair to point this out.

http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/comp...+rand+warranty


EDIT: I just scanned through that thread to verify the number of cases of burned out motors and I was wrong it was not four cases in that one thread, looks like it was five!

Last edited by oldred; 06-15-2011 at 06:54 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #132 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2011, 07:16 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 360
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm still doubting this whole 'wire gauge was too small".. Sure, it might cause an electrical fire, but I doubt it would make the motor seize up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #133 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2011, 07:58 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,909
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Wire that is too small can cause a motor to overheat but the wire will also get hot, the thing is thousands of other compressors of different brands don't seem to have this problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #134 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2011, 11:01 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 360
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well the motor will draw what the motor needs to draw, so I would think the wire would just melt before any harm came of the motor.

And yes, 10 gauge or whatever they use stock (I can't remember) should be more than sufficient.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #135 (permalink)  
Old 06-17-2011, 03:28 PM
Jim Rockford's Avatar
World Famous VF-14
 

Last journal entry: Cleaned it up...
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Virginia
Age: 42
Posts: 411
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I would avoid Newer IR compressors at all cost unless you get the screw type which is really expensive.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cam Confusion glduke Engine 8 09-15-2010 10:01 PM
t5 confusion chevy305ranger Transmission - Rearend 4 05-12-2009 07:11 PM
Cam confusion??? riflegunbuilder Engine 2 09-19-2005 04:08 PM
car confusion ChevelleSS_LS6 Hotrodders' Lounge 1 06-24-2005 05:47 PM
Q-Jet Confusion adryan16 Engine 10 10-16-2004 03:24 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.