Compressor Electrical Connection - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2004, 10:54 AM
Im trying to have an idea!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Abilene Texas
Age: 34
Posts: 382
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Compressor Electrical Connection

Well as some of you may know that I have been getting my compressor piping up for a couple of weeks.
Yesterday was the day I was going to break in the compressor before i connected the main line to it.
I did as the manual read for start up, I went to start the thing...and nothing. the darn thing did not even
make a noise. I started to think it may be a dud, but wanted to give the machine a chance. So i go back
to see if i screwed up electrically. I have the 20amp breaker in place, have two hots, and a ground in place,
put a test light to the hot side of the compressor (off my cord to outlet), bright as day. Take off place on
motor where power enters, put the switch to auto position, put test light on, once again it lite up. Am I missing
something here or did i get a dud.

also see attached

here be the compressor again.
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=32357
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dscf0053.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	49.6 KB
ID:	2187  

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2004, 10:55 AM
Im trying to have an idea!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Abilene Texas
Age: 34
Posts: 382
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Another attachment
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sp.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	29.7 KB
ID:	2188  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2004, 12:14 PM
Im trying to have an idea!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Abilene Texas
Age: 34
Posts: 382
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I picked up a volt tester at lowes and tested the leads in the motor to switch, and from ground to lead one I got 120v.
from ground to lead two I got 120v.

I am thinking it is a bad motor.
when i went to test it, and turned on power, i can smell somthing getting hot in the motor.

any suggestions.

tonight im going to take the compressor back for an exchange.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sp.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	25.1 KB
ID:	2189  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2004, 04:24 PM
Im trying to have an idea!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Abilene Texas
Age: 34
Posts: 382
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
well the problem was....
well the problem was....
was...
me staring at something that did not slap me on my face.

the breaker needed to be placed one space over...so that way it would make a 2 pole connection....

yes you may laugh....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2004, 10:01 PM
Old enough to know better
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 417
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Remember, with 240 volt, you measure from hot to hot! Nothing should actually be referenced to the ground wire. It is there for safety only.
I bet it runs better now that is has some volts to eat.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2004, 07:40 AM
Im trying to have an idea!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Abilene Texas
Age: 34
Posts: 382
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think i was just having a brain fart, but my mistake is everones fix...i hope.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dscf0053a.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	38.4 KB
ID:	2347  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.