Compressor Motor Just Burned Out Today - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2008, 07:23 PM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 59
Posts: 1,099
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Compressor Motor Just Burned Out Today

I have a 5hp Sanborn compressor that has served me well since I bought it new in 1989 or 90, so it's nearly 20 years old.

It's an 80 gallon vertical that is 18 scfm @ 100 psi and 16 scfm at 175 psi.

The electric motor went out today. It trips the breaker and sparks inside the cover on top of the motor if I reset the breaker and immediately trips it again.

What should I do?

Is it time for a new compressor?
Or, should I take the motor down to a electric motor repair/rebuild service?
I see there are couple of electric motor places in San Angelo that are in the phone book.
What about buying a new motor, would that be better?

Opinions please.

Roger

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2008, 07:56 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,401
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 55 Posts
rebuild the motor if it is serviceable. if not, look into a replacement motor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2008, 07:58 PM
MrPhotographer06's Avatar
Army Strong
 
Last wiki edit: How to remove a VW Type I body
Last journal entry: well once again
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fort Bragg,SC
Age: 22
Posts: 631
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
personally i think its time for a newone
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2008, 08:16 PM
wildthing's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: time flies
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: chambersburg, pa.
Posts: 223
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
if its just the motor and the compressior has served your needs , fix or replace the motor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2008, 08:25 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
If the pump is still good and the overall condition of the rest of the compressor is still in decent shape then repairing/replacing the motor would probably be the way to go here. What brand is the motor you have now and what is the amp rating? What about the shaft size? Depending on what motor you have it may be cheaper to just replace it with a new one and from your description of the problem this is likely to be the case, you might try Surplus Center if you decide to buy a motor as they have some really good prices on quality motors.



http://www.surpluscenter.com/sort.as...earch=electric motor&UID=2008122121223447
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2008, 08:31 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
I just checked out Surplus Center and it looks as if they don't have much right now in the HP range you need but a replacement should not be too hard to find.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2008, 08:42 PM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 59
Posts: 1,099
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldred
If the pump is still good and the overall condition of the rest of the compressor is still in decent shape then repairing/replacing the motor would probably be the way to go here. What brand is the motor you have now and what is the amp rating? What about the shaft size? Depending on what motor you have it may be cheaper to just replace it with a new one and from your description of the problem this is likely to be the case, you might try Surplus Center if you decide to buy a motor as they have some really good prices on quality motors.

http://www.surpluscenter.com/sort.as...earch=electric motor&UID=2008122121223447
It's a Century Electric (MagneTek)
22 Amp 3450 rpm 7/8" keyed shaft.

What's the chance it could just be a capacitor that is bad?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2008, 10:51 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: General Motors transmissions Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: near Yellowstone park
Posts: 4,377
Wiki Edits: 27

Thanks: 12
Thanked 265 Times in 247 Posts
compressor

My old sanborn has a red reset on the end of the motor housing. My kids turned the breaker on to air up their bikes a few years ago then didn't turn it off. the temp got below freezing and the pump didn't lubricate good enough and scorred the rods and crank when it started up in the middle of the night. The shop was 150 ft from the house and I didn't hear it trying to run. . I ordered new rods. pollished the crank by hand then drilled the rods and made dippers like I put on my old ford flathead. It 's a little noiser now but has been running 7 yeas since I rebuildt it. I had an elect motor shop rebuild the motor on my Turret saw. cost was $120. a new motor was about $ 500. I have redone elect motors in the past . usually if the windings aren't burned I would find a broken wire or the starting points were bad or a capacitor . 2 Hp motors were free and the most I spent for parts was $ 20 to get them running for use on buffers. grinders . and a GIL_BUILt 14 in bandsaw kit I made.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2008, 10:57 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: General Motors transmissions Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: near Yellowstone park
Posts: 4,377
Wiki Edits: 27

Thanks: 12
Thanked 265 Times in 247 Posts
motor rotation

Be sure to check motor rotation, if you decide to buy a replacement. Some of the 220 v motors out there will only run one direction they do not have the terminal block and wiring you can switch to change voltage or direction.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-22-2008, 09:56 AM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 59
Posts: 1,099
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Update

After searching on the net, I found that Century/A.O. Smith makes a replacement motor:
http://www.drillspot.com/products/35...mpressor_Motor

Grainger also has it for $307.

I took the motor down to repair place in San Angelo this morning and they will diagnose it for me and call me later today. They are also a A.O. Smith dealer and have the motor new in stock as well. They guy said if the motor is shot, the new one is the way to go. I didn't get a price from them on the new one yet. I'll wait to ask that until I know whether the old one is repairable or not.

Last edited by roger1; 12-22-2008 at 10:02 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-22-2008, 12:20 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
A.O. Smith motors are all either from China or Mexico. If that was my motor I would try and have it rebuilt locally some place. Chances are the rebuild would be better IMO.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-22-2008, 12:33 PM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 59
Posts: 1,099
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
The guy from the motor shop called.
Bad news, it's shot.

But it's good news that he carries the replacement.
He quoted me $324 plus tax.
I asked him if he would swap the old pulley on it for me for that and he said he would.
I will pick it up in an hour.

Thanks for all your help guys.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-22-2008, 12:35 PM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 59
Posts: 1,099
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
A.O. Smith motors are all either from China or Mexico. If that was my motor I would try and have it rebuilt locally some place. Chances are the rebuild would be better IMO.

Vince
Vince,
I guess I'll take a chance with this new one.
We'll see how long it lasts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12-22-2008, 04:51 PM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 59
Posts: 1,099
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Got air?

It's up and running again. It took me quite a while to put it back on as I was anal about getting the pulleys lined up perfectly.

Seems quieter and vibrates less.
It could be psychological as I just dumped $350 (with tax) into it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12-22-2008, 07:03 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Glad you got it running, where is the motor made? Reason is, the other day I had an occasion to go to commercial wholesale AC & refrigeration supply house. They had a stack of A.O. Smith motors about four feet high and at least 30 feet long in the showroom. Everything from fractional HP to 5HP. I looked them all over and there seemed to be no rhyme or reason to where they were made, some in Mexico and some in China. There seemed to be no pattern, you would find a 1hp motor made in Mexico and right next to it a 1hp motor made in China.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i bought a new box today njbloodline666 Hotrodders' Lounge 6 10-12-2006 05:16 AM
Bought My First Car Today Chevy Hi-Po Hotrodders' Lounge 35 01-03-2006 12:51 AM
interesting experience in court today akm Hotrodders' Lounge 16 10-02-2004 02:14 PM
1 year ago today 71montebbc Hotrodders' Lounge 2 01-23-2004 07:23 AM
It's all about me me me (today) Madd Syntst Hotrodders' Lounge 5 08-09-2002 06:51 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.