Compressor not restarting :( - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2009, 07:46 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: mississauga, ontario, canada
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Compressor not restarting :(

I have a little issue.. well actually a big issue. My compressor stops after it reaches a certain pressure (135psi i think?) without a problem, however when it dips below lets say 90psi it never kicks in, so basically I can run the tank dry and the darn thing will never start up again.

Also, I push down the lever to the Auto On position but nothing happens. I have to manually push these little contact tabs (which lock into place after) to get it to kick in, once the compressor reaches 135psi they spring out (disconnect).

I hope I make somewhat sense?














    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2009, 08:13 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Had the same problem just yesterday on my compressor. The little spring loaded tabs on the pressure switch have to move freely in the off position. When in the off position you should be able to move the tabs around a bit. One of mine had become stuck and wasn't moving around freely and the lower contact on the tab was not making. Personally I think it's a design flaw with IR compressors. I am looking at replacing the switch with a different design.

FWIW do this with the cord unplugged

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2009, 08:22 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: mississauga, ontario, canada
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
^ thanks

I checked and it doesn't seem to be the same issue as you experienced
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2009, 08:27 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
If you have a volt/ohm meter check for continuity when the switch is closed between the upper and lower wiring connections on one side of the switch. I still bet that one of those spring loaded tabs are not contacting the upper and lower contacts.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2009, 08:52 PM
S10 Racer's Avatar
http://www.warsprints.com
 

Last journal entry: W.A.R. (Wingless Auto Racing) Sprint Car Racing
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: At The Dirt Tracks
Age: 55
Posts: 1,888
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
It is definately the pressure switch. That's all it can be if you can push the contacts closed to get it to start. Replace the switch and it will solve your issue.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2009, 09:10 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: mississauga, ontario, canada
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
IR quality my butt.. this thing is about 1.5yrs old
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2009, 08:31 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: mississauga, ontario, canada
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Ok, so I called IR and they only provide 1yr warranty on the switch, 2yr on the motor.

That means I'll either cough up the money for an IR unit (#54441738) or get another brand. They quoted me $106.00+tx cdn, which is about $87+tx usd for a replacement.

Can anyone recommend a reliable switch in a relatively small form factor (preferably)

Last edited by mikeweb; 04-09-2009 at 08:48 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2009, 08:54 AM
h0trod389's Avatar
youll see me sideways
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N0r*cAL
Age: 38
Posts: 476
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i have the same compressor, and my pressure switch has crapped out on me several times.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2009, 09:39 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: mississauga, ontario, canada
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
^ did you ever replace the switch? if so, was it with the same IR part or another brand?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2009, 11:22 AM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 9,410
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 473 Times in 430 Posts
Check your local industrial/electrical supply, it is a common switch. The same type is used on a well water pump, just with different pressure settings.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2009, 11:32 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: mississauga, ontario, canada
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Which one of these would suit my application best? I found these at my local Princess Auto (harbour frieght equiv) #8050742? (see attached image)


The one in the link provided has a factory set psi on at 70 and an off setting at 100, I take i that one could adjust this for 135 or so? Or does cut-out range mean something else?

Wouldn't I need something with an adjustable ON/OFF PSI setting? As in I would need something to turn on at 90psi and stop at 135psi or so?

https://www.surpluscenter.com/item.a...36-DS&catname=

# Rated 1 1/2 HP at 115V
# Rated 2 HP at 230V
# Factory set PSI ON 70
# Factory set PSI OFF 100
# Adjust. Cut Out Range 70-150
# Size 3 3/4" x 3 5/8" x 2"
# Shpg 1-1/2 lb
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pressure swtich.JPG
Views:	49
Size:	134.8 KB
ID:	37518  

Last edited by mikeweb; 04-09-2009 at 11:39 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2009, 11:46 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeweb
Can anyone recommend a reliable switch in a relatively small form factor (preferably)
You can cross reference your switch to a Square D brand switch.

GRANGER has many listed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2009, 01:57 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Did you ever check the continuity between the contactors to see which leg is not making contact? I would not be so quick to replace the switch, there isn't very much to them. They are easy to troubleshoot. That price IR gave you is ludicrous IMO.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2009, 04:31 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 9,410
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 473 Times in 430 Posts
What you linked to is close, but has no ability to individually set the on and off points, they are fixed at 30 psi differential from each other. If you set the on at 90 the off would automatically be 120. You got the idea, though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2009, 05:27 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericnova72
Check your local industrial/electrical supply, it is a common switch. The same type is used on a well water pump, just with different pressure settings.


NO! It is not the same as a water pump switch because it has to have a provision for an unloader for the pump, besides it is dangerous to try to adjust that much pressure into a switch that is designed to operate at less than half what an air compressor uses. Without that unloader the motor will be damaged from excessive start-up torque. Use the right switch and don't try to "make" something work because you can damage your compressor and maybe yourself, NEVER try to use a water pump switch on a compressor!


Don't know if they deliver to where you live but these guys will have what you need at a decent price.

www.surpluscenter.com


This one maybe?

http://www.surpluscenter.com/item.as...-1798&catname=


www.surpluscenter.com/pages/093.pdf


A heavier duty switch with different settings.

http://www.surpluscenter.com/item.as...6-LMV&catname=

Last edited by oldred; 04-09-2009 at 05:39 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Not Restarting Canadian Charlie Engine 3 11-21-2007 10:04 AM
problems restarting engine (novice) dhomsey Hotrodding Basics 4 07-21-2006 12:34 PM
give me tips for restarting an engine thats been sitting... QuikSSilver Engine 5 12-05-2002 09:22 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.