Compressor size for shooting and using a DA - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2012, 02:55 PM
Jimbo17's Avatar
Nostalgic Racing Decals
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 153
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Compressor size for shooting and using a DA

What size compressor and brand should I be looking for to shoot a car and run a DA without running out of air which is what my compressor is doing now.

I know this exact same question as been asked many times in the past but I could not find a thread relating to it.

Jimbo

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2012, 04:45 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Miami
Posts: 179
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
my D.A uses alot of air, it uses about 14-15 cfm but its about a millions years old maybe newer one are more efficient. my big compressor is a 125 gallon 10hp gas powered unit and pushes about 35 cfm and runs everything with out trouble, my smaller ridgid 9 gallon which puts out like 8-9 cfm runs out of air fast with the DA. but i would think one of those stand up 70-80 gallon compressors that are like 5hp should be enough since most that ive seen push out like 14-20 cfm as far as brand you cant go wrong with any of the big names like IR or the unit from sears but honestly i know people with harbor freight specials that have run reliably for years
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2012, 05:52 PM
Mach1460's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Project 92' Eddie
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 203
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have a sanborn 80 gallon single phase 14CFM@90 PSI--max PSI 155 and It runs a lot when I use my DA ( spent the last 2 weeks on and on sanding my bronco down to bare metal) I have a Chicago Pnumatic 6" da (cheapo) So it might use a lot more air than a good brand. When I break out the HVLP guns it barely runs. DAs suck a ton of air period.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2012, 06:11 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: N Ga.
Posts: 332
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
I have a Dynabrade and my little 13 gallon 4 horse CH compressor will do better than keep up. (it actually pumps up and shuts off, while I'm using it) I also have a Chicago Pneumatic, and the lil' compressor won't even try to run it.

Not all DAs are created equal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2012, 07:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
compressor size

When getting a compressor ,look for amount of cfm of air it will supply. And I would go no smaller than a 4 horse motor (220). Also the larger the tank,the more air you can store,so a larger tank will not cause compressor to come on as often. I had a hausfield/cambell 4 horse with 60 gallon tank. Served me well although I only used ONE tool at a time. Check cfm for each tool,rachet,da,spray gun and match compressor output (cfm) to the highest.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2012, 07:49 PM
mitmaks's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Grille
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Washington
Age: 31
Posts: 1,599
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
I have palm D/A sander and it runs great with my Kobalt compressor. However air die grinder will not run with it for more than 5 minutes, starts running out of air real fast.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-20-2012, 01:35 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: getting started
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: roseville minnesota
Posts: 64
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
how about adding a tank

how about adding a tank to my existing IR 60 gallon tank? Does more tank space mean it will run less? or just take longer to catch up?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-20-2012, 03:25 PM
chevymike's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 71
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I recommend a dual stage compressor. They tend to have more CFM rating for a given HP rating. Also a 220VAC which will use less power for the same HP rating.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2012, 08:16 AM
K72Nova's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 32
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I agree with chevymike, if you want a compressor that will stand up to air tools then go with a dual stage, that's what they're made for. I bought a Quincy, Model # 2V41C60VC and couldn't be happier. It's a bit pricey at around $1400 but it will live forever and is rebuildable. When I was looking into buying mine I had actually heard really good things about the HF 80 Gallon dual stage, if I remember right the motor was built in the US and is rebuildable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Body - Exterior posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Preferred gun tip size for shooting Metallic base coats. 67Elcamino Body - Exterior 1 03-23-2012 10:35 PM
air compressor size miamipops Garage - Tools 1 04-27-2010 07:17 AM
Compressor Tank Size Morgan22 Garage - Tools 24 01-31-2008 06:06 AM
What size tip for shooting jambs? cab Body - Exterior 1 01-15-2007 09:50 PM
What size Compressor? johnnymopar Garage - Tools 5 01-12-2004 03:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.