compressor wiring - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2010, 02:35 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: cherry hill NJ
Posts: 305
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
compressor wiring

ok i want to get a bigger compressor 60 gal tank. lowes has one 110/220 the book says that you can wire this motor either way .if i wanted to use the 220 side couldnt i run a jumper wire off my dryer hookup and have a 220 outlet in my shop that way and use that. we dont use the dryer every hr and i dont paint or sand blast every hr my main breaker in my house box is 100amp so in order to hook this up to 220v and have another line is to have the outside meter replaced by the power company and the inside box replaced and the main breaker replaced sounds like a lot of $$$$$$$$ just for a little upgrade.. if its ok to hookup 110 i guess i can use it like that............. any comments

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2010, 11:35 AM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 70
Posts: 2,218
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Hi,
You scared me when you mentioned jumper wire.
How far away is your power panel ( main breaker, fuse box) from the compressor?
Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2010, 04:14 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 57
Posts: 5,214
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 117 Times in 102 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayneooo
ok i want to get a bigger compressor 60 gal tank. lowes has one 110/220 the book says that you can wire this motor either way .if i wanted to use the 220 side couldnt i run a jumper wire off my dryer hookup and have a 220 outlet in my shop that way and use that. we dont use the dryer every hr and i dont paint or sand blast every hr my main breaker in my house box is 100amp so in order to hook this up to 220v and have another line is to have the outside meter replaced by the power company and the inside box replaced and the main breaker replaced sounds like a lot of $$$$$$$$ just for a little upgrade.. if its ok to hookup 110 i guess i can use it like that............. any comments
You need an electrician !!
__________________
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity



Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2010, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,388
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
I wouldn't jumper a 220 line, even if it was within code.... best call the electrician and have a new 220 line run
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2010, 07:14 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: cherry hill NJ
Posts: 305
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
i didnt mean jumper wire would i be able to hard wire the line into the dryer line using the right 220 volt line of course . my electric box in my home is 65 fit to my shop the dryer is in the rear of the house bout 15 ft from my shop
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2010, 08:11 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: General Motors transmissions Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: near Yellowstone park
Posts: 4,340
Wiki Edits: 27

Thanks: 12
Thanked 257 Times in 241 Posts
220 v extension cord.

I don't think code will allow you to have the air compressor pigtailed into the dryer, Commercial electricians do a lot of calculations for run load. starting loads, percent usage when designing a system..I did the extension cord 50 years ago . unplug the elect stove. plug in the cord and use the welder. If you do that you need to get a heavy duty extension cord with the right size wire rated for exterior use. When we built the new shop my son who is and electrician said he was tired of the lights dimming when the welder and air compressor were runing at the same time in the old shop. He put in a new meter. 200 amp 42 circuit service, and 100 amp sub panel and seperate circuits to every machine. When we need to weld something at the sawmill I have about 500 ft of exterior construction 50 amp cord and the GFCI spider distribution boxes. You can read the directions with the compressor and wire it for 110 V, it won't have as much power but will work ok .. Most require a 20 amp outlet wired with 12 ga wire. If there is room in your elect panel you might be able to add a 220 breaker.and run a new circuit to your garage. the problem could be like my old shop. dryer on , microwave on. Hair dryer being used and the lights go din. low voltage is hard for electronic equipment.

Last edited by timothale; 04-08-2010 at 08:22 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2010, 05:33 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Syracuse NY
Age: 65
Posts: 47
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Do you have a panel box in the garage or an attached garage with no panel box?

Moon
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.