Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board - View Single Post - Compressors & plumbing for spraying
View Single Post
Old 11-02-2004, 07:56 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Red face Compressors & plumbing for spraying

Hello everyone

I'm a complete novice & newbie so treat me with care!!

I'll start by praising this fantastic website. I stumbled across it using Google in a desperate attempt to find a solution to my problem. I've learn't loads so far.......this is great, well done to those who set it up and those who contribute by writing in!

My intentions are to learn to spray/bodywork etc. in my home garage. I bought myself a 150 litre (40 gallon), 14 CFM, 10bar (150psi), 3hp oil compressor with a half decent spray gun (1.4mm external mix nozzle) that uses around 7CFM. I've also purchased a regulator/filter that traps water.

click here to see my air compressor

click here to see my spray gun

click here to see my filter/regulator/water trap

From what I understand so far (and it ain't very much and please correct me if I'm wrong), compressors work at high pressure. The by-product of cramming all these molecules is 'super-heating' of the air which in turn causes condensation/water accumulation in the receiver and in the hose line. It makes sense that this isn't a good thing if you want to do a good spray job.

I've tentatively touch on the subject of 'plumbing a compressor for spraying' and it frightens me a little! I know the whole idea is to capture as much water as possible but seeing these densely detailed schematics/diagrams of pipes everywhere is somewhat daunting. They look far to complicated and intended for professional garages. Thats not me! I need something a lot simpler.