Connecting cable TV from the house to the garage - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2011, 11:44 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 592
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Connecting cable TV from the house to the garage

I have cable TV in the house that was installed way back in the 60's. There is one TV in front of the house and a second one in the back of the house with the splitter in the crawl space. Everything in the house is working fine.

I have built a detached garage and would like to have cable TV out there also. I no longer use the TV in the back of the house so I ran a RG-6 quad shield cable from the garage to the house , disconnected the existing cable to the TV in the back of the house, and screwed in the RG-6 cable into the splitter.

I noticed that the center wire coming out of the RG-6 cable is not as long as the old cable that I pulled out, leading me to believe this is not going to work.

Is the connection of the RG-6 cable to this old splitter going to work?

If not what do I need to do?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2011, 05:16 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,714
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 12
Thanked 147 Times in 131 Posts
You can have or make up as long a cable as you need. If you need a longer one, you can buy, or again, make up a longer length. Home Depot and Lowe's both have a section of connectors, splicers, cable, splitters or whatever you might need. WalMart has some as well. You might possibly need a signal amplifier too, especially since you have the older '60s cable in the house. You do not need that fancy crimper to put the ends on if you have an automotive stripper/crimper
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2011, 05:53 AM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 61
Posts: 16,782
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 19
Thanked 231 Times in 191 Posts
Dont know what your cable is in the house, but I have seen that Cable Tv generally uses RG-59 cable and satellite TV uses RG-6 cable....RG-6 is the better cable, so I cant see you having any problems.....At my trailer, I had to put my satellite dish about 200 ft away from my TV to get a signal....I had no problem and didnt need a booster

Best to try and keep your cable away from electrical cables if you can
__________________
Ontario Rodders
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2011, 10:34 AM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 56
Posts: 4,948
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 2
Thanked 76 Times in 64 Posts
You need to make sure that your detached garage is wired properly. If the ground potential is not the same as the main house your cable could end on carrying current and this is not good.
__________________
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity



Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2011, 01:17 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 592
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Ground potential OK?

As far as the ground potential goes I have a 4 wire set up in the house, and I also ran 4 wires out to the garage so I would think I would be OK there? There is a dedicated ground going from the ground buss in the house to the ground buss in the garage.

What I was worried about is the old cable I pulled out had the center wire protruding about 1/4 inch out of the end. The new wire I put in had that center wire recessed back in a compression connector. It screwed on to the splitter OK but I am not sure if that center wire is making contact inside since it was shorter?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2011, 01:52 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 595 Times in 545 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotRodMan
What I was worried about is the old cable I pulled out had the center wire protruding about 1/4 inch out of the end. The new wire I put in had that center wire recessed back in a compression connector. It screwed on to the splitter OK but I am not sure if that center wire is making contact inside since it was shorter?
Unless it's very short, it should make connection. But if it doesn't, it's a simple matter to cut and re-terminate the cable using parts from Home Depot or Radio Shack.

Prep the coax to look like the picture and twist on the terminal and you're done. If you want, you can use the crimp-on type terminals, but if used indoors, the twist on type works fine, IMO.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2011, 05:47 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Plymouth, CT
Posts: 141
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Or buy the little plastic tool to trim the end of the cable - it makes making
the end as shown very easy and is cheap to buy- found with the new connector you need. If you know anyone who is a handyman or electrician
they will have one you might be able to borrow or just have them cut the
end for you. It can be done with a knife but the right tool makes it much
easier.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coax TV cable compatable with power cable HotRodMan Off-Topic 3 02-04-2011 12:39 PM
Best way to supply power from the house to the garage. HotRodMan Garage - Tools 53 01-14-2011 01:21 PM
new house? where would the garage go screamin340 Hotrodders' Lounge 4 04-28-2004 08:28 PM
my Dream Garage/house montea Garage - Tools 4 02-09-2004 12:40 AM
Garage Tools for The House Project?! Weimer Hotrodders' Lounge 13 01-07-2003 05:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.