Considering changing intake on sbc 350 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2010, 08:27 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Considering changing intake on sbc 350

Hello guys its me again. First my setup
350 SBC, edelbrock rpm performer dual plane holley 600 vs carb
World sportsman 2 heads,9:1 compression,
current hydraullic roller crane cam 284,292 222/230 @ 50 509/528 lift but being changed to custom grind hydraullic roller260,270 212/218 @ 50 510/510 lift. Transmission is a 350 turbo with 2000,2200 stall range and 3.42 rear end gear.

I am not an expert on intake manifolds but I do know dual planes are the best for street performance wise over a open plane. I was wondering will a dual plane intake such as the weiand action plus or the edelbrock eps intake help from off idle through say the 3000 rpm range for better fuel atomization and better throttle response along with fuel distribution?

My Edelbrock rpm performer says a 1500-6500 rpm range but the weiand action plus intakes and the edelbrock eps intakes say idle to 5500 rpm. I am not looking for the most top end power I can get but the best from bottom end to midrange that I can get with my setup with my engine making the most of what I got. I am not cranking my motor to 5000 plus rpm everyday and no track time for it ever.

This is an everyday driver and I am going to smaller cam for better street manners and torque. I just did not know if a idle to 5500 rpm intake would work better with my smaller cam or not. Or if it does not make that much of a difference then I will keep my rpm intake.