Converter Question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2003, 07:23 PM
MI2600's Avatar
Member# 3287
 

Last journal entry: Vortec Heads
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Muskegon, MI
Posts: 2,632
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Converter Question

Is there a way to check to determine if a converter is bad?
I've got a rebuilt 200R4 that seems to be slipping. I reused the old converter from the old trans which had similar symptoms. I'm wondering if the converter wasn't the cuprit all along.
I've adjusted the TV cable til I'm blue in the face.
Any ideas are appreciated.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2003, 03:47 PM
MI2600's Avatar
Member# 3287
 

Last journal entry: Vortec Heads
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Muskegon, MI
Posts: 2,632
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aw, c'mon guys. There's nothing I could find in the KB. Somebody must have some knowledge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2003, 04:44 PM
gt2betubbed's Avatar
Kid With A Wrench...
 

Last journal entry: The Blower and test fit.
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cali Baby!
Age: 35
Posts: 1,106
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I searched around, and even called a tranny shop here in town. They said the only real way is to pop it out and take it in. They then can check it out for "excessive wear". Here's a thread I found while searching in google also.
http://www.hotrodders.com/t19969.html
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2003, 04:51 PM
willys36@aol.com's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 8,384
Wiki Edits: 21

Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Used converters with a new tranny is a no-no in my book. Good, high performance converters are so inexpensive (relatively) that it isn't worth taking a chance on an old one. Yes, your converter is likely the source of your problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2003, 05:36 PM
MI2600's Avatar
Member# 3287
 

Last journal entry: Vortec Heads
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Muskegon, MI
Posts: 2,632
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks guys. I knew someone could help.
I guess I should have asked this question before it went together.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2003, 06:21 PM
roys63's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nc
Age: 63
Posts: 907
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a Friend that had the same problem and a trany shop told him to shim the converter back off the flywheel pushing it in to the pump deeper, i don't remember how much but it did cure the problem. I have seen new performance converters that came with the shims to do this . You must be careful how much you shim it or it will not center in to the crank support.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2003, 06:58 PM
adtkart@aol.com
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 3,220
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ever since they came out with the Lock-up convertors, I have been against re-using a convertor out of a transmission that wasn't working right.

As far as using shims to move it into the pump farther, never heard of such a thing. If it was a "Reman" then maybe it has the hub on it wrong. Maybe it isn't out as far as it should be. The hub goes into the pump and turns the gears. It won't only "partly" turn them. If it isn't in the pump right, it WILL wipe out the pump and gears. I never had to shim any back.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2003, 07:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 42
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shimming the converter will only put more stress on the flex plate, which may damage the flexplate or wipe out the pump or bushing.

If the converter was bad it wouldn't make the transmission slip. You may have no torque multiplication if the stator is bad though. That's easy to check when you have the converter out.

Why don't you start over and tell us what your problem is and perhaps you can isolate the cause.

More info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2003, 05:39 PM
roys63's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nc
Age: 63
Posts: 907
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes that was the wrong info for that problem, he had a couple different trans and converters in that car within a week, one of the converters he was using was custom made for a mid-plate and he had to shim it , Sorry about that!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2003, 06:25 PM
MI2600's Avatar
Member# 3287
 

Last journal entry: Vortec Heads
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Muskegon, MI
Posts: 2,632
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok. From the beginning... '86 ElCamino purchased with a 305 and a 200TH trans. It slipped most noteably in second gear. I replaced the 305 with a 406. Then I replaced the 200 with a 200R4. I finally got the TV cable adjusted to where it will shift at acceptable speeds, but it still slips in second. I bought the 200R4 from a rebuilder. He threw in a used converter, but he told me it had high mileage. The converter appeared identical to the 200, so I used the 200 converter.
Any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.