coolant sensor for gauge and ECM? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2010, 05:45 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Formerly Calgary, Ab, Canada, now in France
Posts: 279
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
coolant sensor for gauge and ECM?

Can I use the coolant temp sensor (the one currently used for the temp gauge) for the coolant temp input of a TBI computer? If so, can I connect both wires (one to the gauge and one to the ECM) to the one sensor?
Thanks!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2010, 12:26 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Hand cleaner Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 170
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
it is possible to use the temp sender for the gage as the temp input to the ECM only IF the sender is calibrated the same as the the one made for the computer.
but i would very strongly suggest not doing it it will only caause you headaches.
coolant temp is a major input for fuel calculations, especially when cold.
also, most temp sending units for use with the gage are only a 1 wire hookup and are grounded thru the body of the sending unit.
the ones for use with the ECM are not ground thru the body, they are a 2 wire hookup with the second wire being the ground for the sensor.

no, you can not use the same coolant sensor for both the ECM and gage. you would have 2 input voltages that may be the same, but will shift the values seen by both the gage and ECM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2010, 07:58 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,591
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 159 Times in 146 Posts
There's a reason why GM used two different sensors on their computer controlled cars, and it wasn't just to increase production costs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-20-2010, 08:25 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,762
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 66 Times in 64 Posts
A couple of suggestions:

Most aftermarket manifolds have one or two pipe-threaded holes in the top, and you can remove the plug and replace it with a sender.

On an SBC block there is another tapped hole on the opposite side of the block from where the OEM temp sender goes. Just remove the plug on that side and replace it with your additional sender.

Bruce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2010, 12:21 AM
fast68's Avatar
likes chevy trucks & boobies
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: IL
Posts: 1,970
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
oval shaped plug CTS in the front of the intake by the thermo housing is for the ECM
two wires to it,

it helps determine fuel mixture



the temp sensor in the cylinder head is for the temp guage

single wire, usually dark green,


these two parts are completely different form each other and cannot be role reversed or swapped.


ppl seem to have a hard time with this simple concept for some reason..

the CTS ohms resistance will be around 12k at around the freezing mark, if its good.

there is a complete chart out there somewhere on the net with all the temperatures and proper resistance readings for these common GM CTS's

if it is bad and is telling the ECM the engine is colder than it actually is then it will help worsen fuel mileage/economy

the CTS is for the ECM only

and the sensor is for the guage only



good luck!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
difference 305 ecm/350 ecm...need help thanx slipfreak84 Electrical 2 10-06-2008 10:07 AM
ECM for FI Engine 345 desoto Engine 11 09-28-2008 03:01 PM
Gm Ecm whitecloud Electrical 5 03-27-2007 07:16 AM
which ecm do i need? onepot Electrical 3 09-07-2006 03:20 AM
Blowing ECM Fuse When Ignition Is Turned On aberg12012 Electrical 2 02-09-2004 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.