couple questions. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2003, 04:31 PM
72superbug's Avatar
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: grants pass, oregon
Age: 26
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
couple questions.

Hi. I have a 1972 vw super beetle, and i want to get it rewired, i am not all that knowalgabe with wiring, i have put in a few cd players and some neon lights, but would a rewiring kit be pretty easy or should i have a pro do it? I am going to be puttin in two 12" sub woofers soon and a amp. For an amp all I need is a positive, negative, and the remote turn on wire right? i know i will need the rca wire and speaker wires for the subs? How do i hook up the amp? Sorry for the questions being dumb but i am 16 year old and i dont wanna blow up 300 dollars that i worked at a stinky burger place to make.


Peace,
Wil
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2003, 06:05 PM
Forkliftguy's Avatar
Crazy Canadian, woohooooo!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Age: 36
Posts: 175
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm guessing you know how to do the deck, since you've put some in already in the past. The amp is pretty straight forward. You'll want to ground the negative side of the amp to a solid and clean spot on the chassis (ie, sand the paint until you have some metal exposed so that the connection will be contacting the metal), I've always preferred to use a small nut and bolt instead of using a screw, that way there's no chance of the connection working loose. After you make the connection it wouldn't hurt to spray it with rust inhibitor (since you sanded the paint away exposing bare metal).

When you run you're power wire, make sure you have a fuse in-line with it as close to the battery as possible. Try not to run your rca wires on the same side of the car as you run the power wire, this will help keep the amp from picking up electrical noise. Also try not to run your rca wires close to other electrical items like junction blocks, etc. I know this is easier said then done and not always possible. Make sure you don't pinch or squish any wires when you put panels back into place. The amp should be labeled on how to wire the subs.

I would mount your amp on a board of MDF so that the amp's chassis doesn't come into contact with the car's chassis. Basically, mount the board to your chosen spot first, then mount the amp on to the board. You would be surprised by how much noise an amp can pick up when it comes into contact with a cars chassis. HTH(I know, it's pretty long)


Marc

Last edited by Forkliftguy; 08-18-2003 at 06:10 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2003, 06:36 PM
TooMany2count's Avatar
A Half Crippled Old SOB....
 
Last wiki edit: GM RPO build codes Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cahokia,IL..... Donate Blood Products & Sign your DONORS CARD
Posts: 807
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
do what forklift said.....what confuses me is
Quote:
i want to get it rewired
you dont need to rewire it, just add some curcuits. You should go to any good electric supply shop, maybe even Radio Shack & pick up a add on curcuit block. Run a 8 or 10 gauge wire to it & you have a new curcuit & it can be placed anywhere you need it............joe
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2003, 08:54 PM
horvath's Avatar
Acoustic Rock ... for real.
 

Last journal entry: About Fusible Links
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Central New Jersey
Age: 63
Posts: 1,982
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hey, Wil

If you want to rewire your VW, I say do it! I never did anything like it before and in April I bought an EZ-Wire Kit a few months ago, for only $165 (see HARNESSES : EZ21) ... I had a blast doing my truck myself -- I learned a LOT, and saved some serious cash in the process. Most of all, now I know my truck is 100% in the electrical department.

Alan
54 Chevy Pickup

Last edited by horvath; 08-18-2003 at 09:03 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.