Hot Rod Forum banner

Cracked Block Question

1K views 12 replies 11 participants last post by  OldTech 
#1 ·
Hi all,
New guy and a bit of a engine newbie here.

I think I know the answer to this question: Get a different short or long block.

Background
: I found a crack in my AMC 258 I6 block at just at the bottom of where the headbolt ends. The crack extends from the waterpump gasket on an upward angle to the head gasket.

At idle, there is no leak, but does leak at higher RPMs.

Question 1: Is there a reasonable chance that a fillet weld from a professional welder would seal this for any length of time?

I suspect the answer is: No, the crack probably extends around the headbolt hole on the block mating service around the hole.

Question 2: Any recommendations on reman engines? (This was an ATK reman with 20K miles)

Thanks in advance
JR

See less See more
#3 ·
I'd try a water jacket sealer first.

Welding cast iron is extremely difficult, complete disassembly of the engine down to a bare block is about the only chance you would have of making a successful weld, to try it on an assembled engine would be foolish.

I've seen K&W Block Seal and Blue Devil Block sealers both work amazingly well for something like this

#5 ·
I had a had a 283 freeze up on me once.Pushed the freeze plugs out & saved the block, but, the front of 1 head cracked bad.I used some JB Weld on it by smearing over the crack & using a small scraper to force it into & packing it into the crack.Prior this tho, I also flushed the cooling system as clean as possible.After letting the JB cure for 24 hrs, I added some KW block sealer.The crack seeped at 1st, then sealed up.I sold the truck about a yr later.It never leaked on me, but, the new owner let it run hot & said it started to leak afterwards.

#8 ·