Crazy Gas Gauge - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-03-2009, 10:48 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rainier
Posts: 11
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Crazy Gas Gauge

I have an 1985 Trans Am and about a month ago the gas gauge quit working on me and all it would read is full and not move. Yesterday when I ran into town the entire trip my gas gauge was going crazy, going from full to empty and back so many times that I couldn't count. What's wrong with it?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-03-2009, 12:55 PM
da34guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bumfork, OK
Posts: 466
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
Sounds like ya lost the ground.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-03-2009, 07:40 PM
CustomConspiracy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Age: 60
Posts: 167
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gage

I have a 65 C-10 pick-up. The gage was working fine.
I removed the gas tank from inside the cab, and let it set empty for a couple of months while I worked on the truck.
When I installed the tank in the bed of the truck, the gage did kinda the same thing. Read full all the time.
I checked all the wires, several times.....no fix.
When I removed the gage float and sending unit it turned out that the little flat strap of metal that is used in place of wire inside the tank, had cracked where it was riveted to the mount.
I tried like crazy to solder this thing but it would not work.
Eventually I managed to bend it just right, so it makes contact just thru being in a bind.
If I keep the current tank and location, I will spring for a new gage. I may switch over to some S10 tanks and electric pump, and use the gage that comes in that.
In your case if you can,t find the short on the outside, maybe the gas sloshing inside is causing the thing to periodically break contact.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-04-2009, 09:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rainier
Posts: 11
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks

Any ideas on where this loose ground would be?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-04-2009, 09:54 AM
CustomConspiracy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Age: 60
Posts: 167
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gage ground

On mine, the only ground is from the sending unit to the body. The rest is mounted on rubber.
It's just a short wire running from the top of the sending unit to a goo ground point.
The power wire, which on mine runs to a special 5v terminal on the fuse block.
I guess the signal to the actual gage goes from the fuse block to the gage?
I checked everything and could NOT find a short, so if you do that too, and can't find the problem....look inside the tank at the sending unit and see if it did what mine did.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-04-2009, 06:49 PM
curtis73's Avatar
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
 
Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: 1999-2001: Getting it on the road
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 40
Posts: 5,128
Wiki Edits: 16

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
almost always you can count on this... a guage that reads empty means the sending unit/guage isn't getting power. A guage that reads full means the sending unit isn't grounded.

I had a similar problem. My gauge read full except when it was raining
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2000 Sunfire Horrible gas mileage, and erratic gas gauge jordan2011 Engine 8 08-07-2008 07:56 AM
87 Camaro - Gas gauge stuck - FULL dpjmw Electrical 12 06-07-2005 08:04 PM
Gas Gauge sscamaro_510 General Rodding Tech 11 12-29-2004 04:02 PM
gas gauge mysteriously starts working again bullheimer Electrical 11 02-13-2004 05:12 PM
Gallopping Gas Gauge Blues jpd37 Body - Exterior 2 02-05-2003 08:40 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.