Hot Rod Forum banner

Cross member from 1995 Roadmaster in 37

9K views 31 replies 7 participants last post by  enjenjo 
#1 ·
I'm exploring another option for the front suspension & steering for my 1937 Roadmaster.
I have a 1995 Roadmaster donor car and I'm considering cutting the front cross member out of that car and grafting it into my 1937.
Virtually all the 95 steering, brakes, and suspension could then be used.
I'm already using the power train and rear axle out of this 95, so this would make all replacement parts from the same model car and will also save money.
This would change the 37 to a front steer set-up.
I would not be able to use the 95 steer box because it normally resides where the 37 frame passes through and supports the front bumper.
I have a 77 Scout 2 box that may work because the box sits on top of the frame and the pitman shaft goes down to the bottom of the frame.
The first picture shows the cross member I would cut from the 95. The other pictures show the cross member installed in the 37 frame.
My question for anyone who has grafted cross members:
1) Will it work for me to cut rectangular slots half way up from the bottom of the 37 frame and half way down from top of the 95 cross member so it can be slid up into the frame?
I could then have the cross member welded to the frame.
Thanks

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
You can use any steering gear you like as long as the pitman arm is the exact same length as the original Buick unit and moves on the same plane. It must run exactly parallel to the idler arm or bumpsteer will be the result. Some of those older steering gears have a much slower ratio than modern units, so be aware that the steering may be slower than with the original Buick gear.