Cruise Control. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2003, 06:22 PM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 41
Posts: 10,675
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 65 Times in 60 Posts
Post Cruise Control.

I have a 86 Olds Cutlass Supreme, I dropped in a Chevy 350 in place of the tired olds 307, a turbo 350 tranny, and a 3.23 Posi rear, I`m about to add a 700R4 for gas mileage reasons. Does the cruise control have to work off the computers instruction? needless to say I`m not useing the computer anymore and I recently found a junked caprice with the cruise still intact and I want cruise back being I`ll be making a few trips this summer. any help is appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2003, 04:26 PM
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 42
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

You will prolly have to use an after market cruise setup, Southern Rods sells one for around 159.00 or you can call Auto Loc and get the same one for 200.00, I know because thats what I did, so from now on I will buy from Southern Rods, you will need a pulse generator, they run about 35.00. The kit is real easy to install and well worth the cash
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-01-2003, 03:20 PM
rocket rider
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: kansas
Age: 48
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

i am the one with the 82 cutlass you said you know where to go about putting gauge cluster in i have one where do i go to find info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2003, 10:13 AM
snkbyt's Avatar
ASE Master

Last journal entry: 52 Chevy for sale
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Salem, Oregon
Age: 63
Posts: 245
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

The easiest way to do cruise is to get the later model GM electronic from a wrecking yard, about 60.00 here.Get all the wiring harness and switches. It's not vacuum operated and has the cable internal attached. Make sure to get the speed sensor that goes in the speedo cable. But if you can't find one an aftermarket speed sensor will work. Dakota digital sells them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Please select your insurance company (Optional)


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.